Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-05-2009, 03:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 74
Adding sand to established aquarium

Hi everyone! My husband and I wanted to add some more sand to our 29 biocube. We have 2 false perculas, 1 fire shrimp, several cerith and astrea snails. Is there an easy way to do this? Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

HAPPY LABOR DAY!
__________________

__________________
newfishhobbyist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 03:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
all I can think of its use a smaller container slowly add sand to your tank.
use anything u can think of to make the sand go in to your tank as slow as it can, so it won't make the water cloudy. (the water will become cloudy no matter what, but if u put them in slowly, the new sand n water seem to settle down quicker IME )
__________________

__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 04:16 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, rinse the sand a few times and use a plastic bowl and lower it in the tank, let it fill up with water and get close to the bottom and pour it out. No matter how many times you rinse, you will still have some smaller particles the will float around.
Some folks will use a PVC to pour it in.
Make sure you turn off any water moving equipment to reduce the flow. You fish will be fine. I separated CC from the sand in my 55. It was a bit of a mess but my fish survived.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 04:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
The pvc with a funnel sounds like a good idea!
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 06:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
mcgrady7761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 131
rinse the sand then put it in a container with a lid on it. once the container is at the bottom take the lid off and quickly turn the container over.
__________________
mcgrady7761 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
The PVC doesn't work too well with wet sand. It works great with dry and it is easier to get it exactly where you want it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
No matter what trick you pull, you need to rinse first REALLY well! I am still in agony 3 months later after NOT rinsing my sand. The junk in it seems to have turned into filthy scum that just goes everywhere when I disturb the sand bed. (Place a coral on the bottom and you get a nasty storm).

Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 10:29 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Mrg02d, if you have a filter that should suck it up some. If you are not using a filter, stir the sand a little when you do a PWC and that should suck up some more of the smaller particles....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 11:08 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: tallahassee, florida
Posts: 990
Hello,
I have been running a power filter for a 50 gallon tank (I have a 20g) for months and I still have a dust problem. I recently got a micro filter material and stuck it into my filter last night. We will see how it goes.

Still, wish I had rinsed my sand!
Matt
__________________
mrg02d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 12:33 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Cool, yeah I rinsed 270Lbs of sand in 5 gallon buckets 5 times each bucket and still had a sand storm.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding LR to an established aquarium pjcozzi Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 08-31-2006 10:06 AM
Adding LR To an established tank 143gadgets Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-26-2005 09:50 PM
Adding sand to an established tank. rcolbath Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-02-2004 10:15 PM
Adding LR to an established system BrendanH Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-11-2004 07:35 PM
Adding LR to an established tank. mansiz Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 02-01-2004 08:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.