Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-04-2013, 12:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
Adding Substrate

I am sick of my bare bottom tank i want to add sand into it what should i do to get it in there i dont wanna empty the tank and take the fish out.

Should i wash it in fresh water then put it in a cup and slowly add it? My stock is 4 chromis one occ clown and one damsel
__________________

__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
AC-X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darylb View Post
I am sick of my bare bottom tank i want to add sand into it what should i do to get it in there i dont wanna empty the tank and take the fish out.

Should i wash it in fresh water then put it in a cup and slowly add it? My stock is 4 chromis one occ clown and one damsel
Washing and adding it with a cup should work. Make sure to unplug your filter during this process so the sand won't damage the impeller. If the water gets really cloudy just wait until it settles and slowly keep adding. I'm not sure if all the floating sand stuff would harm the fish, I highly doubt it though. If your fish seem stressed during the process try turning off the light.

Another option is to get a few 5 gallon buckets and fill them with water from the tank and put the fish in there while you add the sand.

If you didn't already know you can get pool filter sand at about $5-$10 for 50 lbs I think.

Hope this helped!
__________________

__________________
||
|_________|
AC-X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LaWoWee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 406
You also try feeding the sand through a pvc pipe straight to the bottom. That might minimize the cloud effect.
__________________
LaWoWee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
i just did it last week in one of my freshwater tanks with extra fine carribesea super natural sand and it worked out great. as long as you rinse it good enough and it is quality sand, it shouldn't cloud your tank imo. i also agree with turning everything off. also make sure you don't bury anything I've had it happen.....
__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:38 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
Thanks guys i was thinking of ways to get it in there with a siphon some how but the pvc will work
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 05:17 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
Would pool filter sand be all good in a reef?
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
forzaazzurri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darylb View Post
Thanks guys i was thinking of ways to get it in there with a siphon some how but the pvc will work
The PVC pipe will work. I put it in a 1 litre plastic juice bottle, then fill it with water as you put the bottle in the tank, then turn it over and the sand comes out without flying all over the place. This also keeps the fine particles in the bottle.
__________________
forzaazzurri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaWoWee View Post
You also try feeding the sand through a pvc pipe straight to the bottom. That might minimize the cloud effect.
i was going to suggest this too.You just may need to smooth it out as you add the sand.
__________________

__________________
Criptix
2.5 gallon home of Gillbert the Crowntail Betta
40g breeder awaiting fish
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding something good for plants to existing substrate. MMantelli Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 04-12-2013 11:32 AM
Switching to sand substrate Stevy89 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 04-07-2013 12:45 PM
Fertilizer To Create Rich Substrate? Manix Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 11-05-2011 09:26 AM
Substrate for Cories segrayson Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 10-30-2011 10:44 PM
Substrate Compaction with Flourite? fishrancher Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 09-17-2011 12:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.