Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2004, 07:28 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Adjusting Calcium while keeping Alk in line

I've recently added a rock with some shrooms to my system and so the time to keep on top of my Calcium and Alk have arived. I just did a 20% water change yesterday. Readings as of 5 minutes ago:

Ph: 8.0
Ca: 310
KH: 7.0 (Meq/L: 2.51)

What I've purchased to keep my ca/kh in check is Bi-Ionic as I've heard a number of folks here use and like it and it keeps things in check.

Now, the Bi-Ionic directions say to add equal parts of each the Ca and KH daily. But, according to this web site, Chemistry and the Aquarium (which is a great read mind you) It says a common mistake in adjusting the levels in the way I need to is adjusting both which ends up throwing either the Ph, KH or both out of whack.

So, my question is should I just use the Ca additive of the Bi-Ionic to bring my Ca levels up, then once they're up use the product as directed, or should I use both parts right from the start?

Thanks everyone!
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 07:55 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
So, my question is should I just use the Ca additive of the Bi-Ionic to bring my Ca levels up, then once they're up use the product as directed, or should I use both parts right from the start?
Actually I would fix the saltmix and do a waterchange, get it balanced or within range and then use the product as directed, if needed. With only rock and some shrooms, it should be an easy task to maintain CA and ALK levels with waterchanges alone. Once you get into more stoney corals you will need the additive.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 07:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
I had high CA and was using bionic and so i thought "oh, ill just stop using the ca side" After that i talked to someone that said you shouldnt do that you should use BOTH for it to stablize the KH and CA. My ca is now 490 and stable. But like reefrunner said you need to have it where you want it first then use the bionic because all its really doing is holding your current parameters in check .
__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, line, sting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alk, calcium and magnesium BEANS Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 06-03-2009 07:04 PM
DIY Calcium and Alk Supp tryin2make63 DIY Projects 2 04-24-2009 12:25 PM
Calcium Formula and Adjusting Water Conditions pkremer Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 06-28-2006 08:36 PM
calcium/ alk electrikat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-07-2004 11:31 PM
Alk, PH and Calcium AGAIN! Let me see if I understand this.. AndySmithers Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 12-22-2003 12:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.