Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2005, 02:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23
Adjusting PH if at all for Fish only LS/LR Aquarium

My PH hovers around 7.7-7.9. I read enough on these boards to not use the buffers to raise it up so i have been leaving it as is hoping that once my tank matures more it will go up.. my tank has been up for 3 months now.

125 Gallon Long w/ canopy
2 Fluval 404's
3 Medzoo Powerheads
1 Seaclone skimmer
80 lb LS
15 lb LR

1 Bird Wrasse (female)
1 Tang
1 Porcupine Puffer


0 ammonia
0 Nitrites
5 ppm Nirtates
1.022 Salinty (refractometer measured)
Alkanilty tested with strip said ideal

One of the things i tried was to add more air by placing some oxygen lines on the surface because the aqaurium is acyrillic and its enclosed then covered with the canopy. I dont want to add the buffers because i am afarid that what will happen is my fish will die.
__________________

__________________
Max_in_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 05:25 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Adjusting PH if at all for Fish only LS/LR Aquarium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max_in_SD
One of the things i tried was to add more air by placing some oxygen lines on the surface because the aqaurium is acyrillic and its enclosed then covered with the canopy.
This is part of the issue, especially if you do not have a large open sump. The tank is not getting enough free flowing gas exchange. Bubblers or airstones will have little if any impact. The best means of increasing gas exchange is at the surface of the water. Creating a brisk rippling effect at the surface as well as good flow throughout the tank is typically key but only if the tank can breathe. Your alk being at an acceptable level will commonly indicate the problem being evironmental, not chemical so the buffer would have a short lived affect on the pH.

What model are the Zoomeds, the 226 or 228? What is the distance from the top of the 404's to the top of the tank? Can you post a pic of your tank top area?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23
PH now at 8.0

Well one night after adding those hole lines and 1:30 of my lights being on when I came home my PH read 8.0. Cant be sure if it was just the lights coming on or the holes that i plugged into the zoo meds. I have the 228 model.





__________________
Max_in_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:47 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Your problem is definately aeration then. If you have a canopy, you should try removing the covers. It will greatly improve the natural pH. When the lights come on, algaes will produce O2 aiding the increase in ph so it could be that in part. Do the lights have a seperate splash guard?

What time of day have you been testing the pH. Early morning, afternoon or evening?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23
yeah the lights have a cover on them...

my lights come on from mon-fri 5 pm - 12 am
sat/sun 12 pm - 12 am

what i can probably do is remove the lights to allow the open square holes for more aeration and get another powerhead to stir up the tank so i can add another gas line. I have been doing it mid-day sometimes and at night before i hit the sack. gonna have to regiment my self to keep doing it on a constant time that way i can get a better average
__________________
Max_in_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 11:16 PM   #6
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You added pics, didn't see those earlier 8O

Actually you don't need to remove the lights, just elevate them some so air can flow beneath them. As long as they have splash guards, you can remove the acrylic covers from the tank itself (not the lights) and air will flow better. A fan at the rear of the tank would help as well. You will be suprised what a few minor adjustments like that would do.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 10:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23
thanks for the hlep Steve that seemed to do it
__________________
Max_in_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 10:35 PM   #8
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a


Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish only, sting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting fish population - advice? malloc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 04-03-2007 01:58 AM
Time fram for the Bioload adjusting after adding new fish garth7 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 12-04-2006 12:24 PM
Adjusting new ASM G3 SkinnyPete General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-20-2006 10:58 AM
skimmer and adjusting i like fish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 12-09-2004 02:20 AM
Adjusting PH Levels spiritskr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-04-2003 06:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.