Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alvarez

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am interested in setting up a saltwater tank and am prolly going to go with a pretty big tank. I am starting new and want to know about compatibilty. The saltwater fish I like best are the Clown, the Puffer, Tangs, and Stingrays.

Just with my experience with fish thus far I can guarantee that not all of these fish are compatible with each other.

I really love Puffers and Clown fish though...

Any advice on what type of tank I will need, How many tanks would I need minimum to get these fish and what are some combinations I might be able to mix.

I am totally new to Saltwater and want to learn as much as possible... What should be my 1st step in beginning a setup?

Kudos to you for asking the questions first! The first step is deciding what you will want in your tank and then whether or not your wants fit your budget. Except for the very fewest of tang species, they require a large tank. Others may drop the size down a bit, but IMO a 100 gallon is the smallest you should consider. Stingrays, I am sorry to say, have no place in the home aquarium. Puffers (many varieties, each with different needs) are rather messy eaters, and would dictate the purchase of a protein skimmer. Clowns have no special needs, except for tankmates that will not use them as snack items.

Browse through the multitudes of sites such as liveaquaria.com that have pictures, basic needs listed, create a "possibilities" list and then we can help a bit more!

What are reef tanks and are they required for a saltwater tank? I am gathering they are acrylic and not the normal shape of aquariums (corner/rectangle)

Is it true puffers and Clowns can't be kept together? because the puffers eat coral or something to that effect?