Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 03:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Advice on transferring to a new setup

I am about to switch from my ten gallon tank and upgrade to a twenty gallon. I am planning on using a lot of the same equipment on the twenty gallon because I bought all of the stuff for the ten gallon thinking that I would soon upgrade. Things like the filter, heater, light, and probably even the sand are what will be transferred. Is it possible to just siphon all of the sand and water out of the old tank and into the new and just transfer my fish and live rock over? I don't want to have anything happen to the fish but I also don't really have room for both setups or the equipment necessary. I do have an extra heater and smaller filter that could also be used. Any opinions, ideas, or advice would be greatly appreciated because I am still rather new to saltwater.
__________________

__________________
raggedreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
medic747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 188
Stirring up the substrate when you switch over could cause an ammonia spike I would use new substrate seed it with a handful of old stuff and between your filter media and live rock that should bb more than enough good bacteria! Good luck
__________________

__________________
55 gal. FW chiclid
10 gal. FW feeder breeder
medic747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
so would I need to allow the new tank to cycle then or would I be able to add in my fish immediately?
__________________
raggedreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
I would reuse 75% of the water

Nevermind buying new sand, just rinse it very well and put it in the tank before you put the water in. Put a large bowl on top of the sand to pour the water into to not disturb the sand.

The other 25 % of the water keep for your fish to stay in while you set up the new tank.

Once your temp and salinity are where you want them go ahead and add the fish.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
would i just rinse the sand with fresh water, we have very clean spring water at our house that I have found to not have anything harmful in it?
__________________
raggedreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Yes just use tap water, put it in a 5 gallon bucket about half full, and put it in the tub... mix it with your hands until it runs clear...
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
so just continue to let the water overflow out the top of the bucket as I mix and that should make the sand useable for the new tank?
__________________
raggedreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
exactly, let it fill to the rim then let the water trickle in just enough for it to overflow at a constant pace. do this for about 20 minutes per bucket full. every 5 min stir the sand with your hand.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
once i rinse the sand, put it in the new tank, add saltwater, and get my temp right how long should I probably wait to add the fish and rock, whenever?
__________________
raggedreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 04:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
once your temp and salinity are at 78 degrees and 1.022-1.024 add the LR

wait 12-24 hours and add the fish

Make sure what you keep the fish in for the time being is kept at 78 degrees as well. And that it has circulation and keep them in the original water!
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new setup, setup, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need QT setup advice The Gillman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-03-2008 06:11 PM
Advice For A New 2G Setup? SpleenRippa Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-27-2007 01:50 PM
New Setup. Advice Please. HitTheRoadJack Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 06-05-2007 12:24 AM
Any advice for first SW setup??? STARFYRE Nano Reefs 7 12-31-2006 11:19 PM
New Setup Advice jschweg Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 06-13-2005 12:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.