Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2005, 09:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
aerating water change water

My question is two fold. Is aerating the water for your changes necessary if you let the water mix for 48 hours with good surface currents and would using something like a needle wheel skimmer pump cause a problem by putting to much air in the water and thus changing the chemistry? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 09:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
I use two of those PH that have a connection for a air hose and lit run for 24/48 hours. One is sitting in the bottom of the container and the other one hangs from the edge. Been doing this since I started and I have not noticed anything wrong with my water. Note that I also have a heater in there. HTH

8)
__________________

__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 09:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
I was using a mag7 but it started to chatter a lot so I am looking to switch. The funny thing to me is that over a two day period, the Mag7 will bring the water up to 80 degrees so I do not need a heater and can avoid the risk of melting through my conatiner. I will use the Sedra 5000 for now and see how chemistry turns out. Thanks.
__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 01:15 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
No need to add air to the water. The gas exchange takes place at the surface. As long as you use a ph that points up a bit and agitates the surface you'll be fine.

A properly working heater will not melt the plastic container as long as there is water surrounding it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 02:56 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d
A properly working heater will not melt the plastic container as long as there is water surrounding it.
True but still a little risky with some old heaters. I worry about it to much myself, especially since it’s usually mixing while I sleep. I keep two small pieces of base rock on the bottom of my mixing bucket to elevate the heater just in case. Have you ever tried to hold a heater when it's on in the water 8O

I like Serge's use of dual powerhead at top and bottom & do this as well but mostly because I mix in a 30 gal trashcan on wheels. I think if you are just mixing in a 5 gal bucket then one ph at the surface should do it IMO.

Also since I don’t use 30 gal each time I keep it covered until next time and just remix\heat it for about an hour or two before using again.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 03:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
I was making 45 gallons, so I just used the big pump and it acted as the heater as well.
__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 03:48 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I forgot you have a 175 gal A big pump works as well Bonus on the heat it puts out.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change or just add RO water during cure process???? caco Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-23-2008 11:50 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Water change and water top off idea! sdveirs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-17-2005 10:04 AM
Aerating water Shannono Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-02-2005 07:04 PM
Water change - warm or cold water? paulc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-29-2005 12:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.