algae and slime???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

haus

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to saltwater and have two questions. First off I have a 55 gal FOWLR tank that has been up and running for 3 months and there is a dark slime coating my substrate (40 lbs crushed coral and 20 lbs live sand) Does anybody know what it is and how can I get rid of it. Second I have to clean the glass daily, sometimes twice because of the algae film. I plan on getting more snails, but is that fast of growth normal? The nitrates and phosphates are 0, so I am really confused on what is causing the algae growth. Thanks for any advise that I can get.

Haus

How old and what kind of lights are using and how long do u run ur lights in the tank.

Having the lighst on can cause algae problems.

HTH

I've got 4 48" flourescent bulbs - 1 actinic, 1 50/50 daylight, 1 5500k, and 1 plant/aquarium light (for freshwater not saltwater, but I thought it may help with the light intensity, with less cost). All the lights are less than 3 months old and they run for about 14 hrs/day

I'd cut the lighting back to 10 hrs. Used to think they need to be on in the AM to feed before I left for work, and of course in the evening viewing & feeding time (again). Sounds like that's what you might be doing too. Now I only light from about 1pm - 11ish and feed once daily.

And of course the requisite and heartfelt "Welcome to AA!!!" is in order.
:smilecolros: :multi: :smilecolros:

Thanks for the advise. I will cut back the lighting. Right now I feed them one mysis shrimp cube or plankton cube once per day. There are only 3 fish in there so would it be alright to feed them one cube of either every other day as opposed to every day? TIA

Haus