algae bloom

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Betsy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I am a newbie with a 75 gallon reef tank for 1 1/2 years. In the past six months the algae has been getting worse and worse. I had a thread that got closed and it gave me a lot of good advice and asked some questions of me that I never got to answer and so here goes.

I am going to read up nutrirnts (advice that it's mostly about them)

My nitrate level is 0

I have not been using RO/DI, but have stated now. I was using tap water with Prime for top up and weekly in my water changes salt to 1.024.( I have an anemone, open brain coral and a sun coral and read they like a higher salinity) I have been doing 15% wc once a week. Should I try twice a week?

Is gfo like a phosban reactor? I just got one about 1 month ago and put Rowa in, but I have to get more Rowa as I didn't get enough. (The city I live in does not carry it so I have to travel to get it)

I do have a skimmer.

I will feed every other day now even though I worry I am starving them. I am sure my clowns won't be happy as even now when I come near the tank with out food I am sure they are telling me to go get some and if I don't I'm sure my female is trying to nag me into it. She's delighfully bossy to me and her male.

I keep my lights on for 9 to 10 hours.

I hope I have answerred all the questions everone asked. I really apreciate all your help. I have learned so much since I have joined the site.

Thanks
Betsy

I would reduce the feedings and up the PWC to 20-25%.
How old are your light bulbs?
Keep in mind, older bulbs have a shift in spectrum which can help to fuel algae.