Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2013, 08:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Djw311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
algae help

Hey everyone. I've been battling a hair algae outbreak for months and I'm at my wits end. I change my water weekly using RO water. I've taken my rocks out and scrubbed them numerous times. My lights are only on for a total of 8 hours per day. I only feed 2-3 times a week. I run chemi-pure elite and a nitrazorb pouch in my filter. My ammonia, trites, and phosphates are all 0 and my nitrates are 5.

I don't know what else I can do. And I'm tired of my tank looking like garbage when I put so much time and money into it. I can't just turn my lights off and kill it without killing my RTBA along with it.

Suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Djw311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Do you have clean up crew like hermit crabs and turbo snails? What kind of light do you have?
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Dyl1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Do you have clean up crew like hermit crabs and turbo snails?
I agree with Jeff. Put 5 turbo snails in their and it should clear right up. Only like $2 or less per snail!
__________________
Dyl1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Djw311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
I have a few snails and hermit crabs, but none of the nails are turbos.

I'll pick up a few but even if they mow it down, that doesn't fix the source of the problem.
__________________
Djw311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djw311 View Post
I have a few snails and hermit crabs, but none of the nails are turbos.

I'll pick up a few but even if they mow it down, that doesn't fix the source of the problem.
You need to find the source. How hi off the water line do you keep your lights what's your mag level what are you dosing the tank do you have a sump what lights are you using?
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Djw311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
Exactly.

I use the Marineland reef capable LEDs that sit right on top of the tank. Getting rid of them and replacing with the LEDs that everyone likes on here. Just need to figure out how to hang them.

No sump and I don't know what my mag levels are. I don't dose with anything except Alpha for reefs. Its a water conditioner like Prime by Seachem.
__________________
Djw311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 12:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Try cutting the 10000k to 4 hrs and leave actinic for 8 hrs. But you need to physically remove first by siphoning while brushing. The clean up crew will start mowing the freshly growing hair algae while cutting down light will slow it down. Check RO water for nitrate before mixing.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:56 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
Also check your Rodi water using a Tds meter. You want it to be at 0.
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bray84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 513
Most cuc won't touch it if its long so have to remove it by hand by pinching it of the rock and rinse fingers in water and do again till its gone, then your cuc will eat the new grown stuff.
__________________
Bray84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 03:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Terryc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 98
I had the same problem with my tank. I added a phosphate reactor with phosban in it and within a week it was gone. It also helps keep your water perfect to eliminate future algae problems.
__________________

__________________
Terryc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.