Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2013, 01:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Why would you use tap water knowing Phosphates are entering your tank? Kind of counter intuitive considering you bought a reactor. Should have just bought an RODI filter.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 01:08 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post
Phosphates could be being added with water changes if not useing RO water. I personaly dont use RO water I have phosphates in my tap water but I use a phosphate reactor and protien skimmers. Phosphates go up with water changes but the reactor takes them back down.
I'm also not too sure what you mean here? If phosphates are in the water, they are feeding the algae, hence my statement. If this is the case, the phosphates won't show high readings.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 01:09 PM   #13
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Buying livestock will not solve the problem. You need to find the source and cut it off. Here is a good battle plan for nuisance algae

FantasyReef Databases-Viewing item "10 Step Plan for Nuisance Algae Control"
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:29 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: botetort co virginia
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post

I'm also not too sure what you mean here? If phosphates are in the water, they are feeding the algae, hence my statement. If this is the case, the phosphates won't show high readings.
Depends on the concentration of phosphates if there is a high phosphates in the water being added it will feed the problem. And will show in test.
__________________
Nimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:34 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: botetort co virginia
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
Why would you use tap water knowing Phosphates are entering your tank? Kind of counter intuitive considering you bought a reactor. Should have just bought an RODI filter.
I choose to use my tap water because the issues with it can be fixed alot cheaper than useing RO water and then adding a bunch of chemicals to get the Ph balanced and having to add back all of the minerals that the RO unit removes.
I use the phosphate reactor to take the phosphates out and a protein skimmer to take out other unwanted trash I dont have to dose chemicals
__________________
Nimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post
I choose to use my tap water because the issues with it can be fixed alot cheaper than useing RO water and then adding a bunch of chemicals to get the Ph balanced and having to add back all of the minerals that the RO unit removes. I use the phosphate reactor to take the phosphates out and a protein skimmer to take out other unwanted trash I dont have to dose chemicals
The only thing you have to add to RODI water is salt. It has nothing to do with balanced ph and chemicals. And I understand what a phosphate reactor and protein skimmer do. Sorry but I don't feel like you have a fundamental understanding of the benefits of using RODI in a salt water tank.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:40 PM   #17
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post
I choose to use my tap water because the issues with it can be fixed alot cheaper than useing RO water and then adding a bunch of chemicals to get the Ph balanced and having to add back all of the minerals that the RO unit removes.
I use the phosphate reactor to take the phosphates out and a protein skimmer to take out other unwanted trash I dont have to dose chemicals
You don't have to add anything to ro/di water besides your saltmix... Sounds to me like you might have been given some bad advice somewhere along the line.
In terms of your phosphate reactor and skimmer, with a sea of hair algae that you currently have it isn't doing the trick. Check out the above linked on how to battle hair algae. It'll take awhile, but it works.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:50 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: botetort co virginia
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post

You don't have to add anything to ro/di water besides your saltmix... Sounds to me like you might have been given some bad advice somewhere along the line.
In terms of your phosphate reactor and skimmer, with a sea of hair algae that you currently have it isn't doing the trick. Check out the above linked on how to battle hair algae. It'll take awhile, but it works.
I am not the OP my tanks have no algae problems and never have. I was simply trying to give an idea as to some of what could be the problem of the OP.
__________________

__________________
Nimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.