Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2013, 05:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Charlie.636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
algae help please.

Starting to get a bit out of hand. What should I do? My hermits dont seem to be touching it and my lawnmower blenny is going around with a full belly. Help please!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131126_181731.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	209399
__________________

__________________
Charlie.636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Oh wow! CUC and fish aren't the answer for algae issues. They only add to it or delay it.

You have excess nitrates and/or phosphates. Start by doing numerous large water changes with rodi water based saltwater. Pull out algae with the water hanged if you can.

Cut back on feeding.

What size tank? Age? Filtration? Feeding schedule and amount? Parameters? Livestock list?
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Charlie.636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 174
Thanks.
Its a 30g tank with two powerheads and a pengiun 200 filter. Its been set up since june I think. At first I had bad diatoms and my sand looked really dirty. Then I lowered my light closer to the tank and the sand all cleaned up. But the past couple weeks the HA has just be growing like wildfire.

Can I pick that hair off the bottom of the tank?
__________________
Charlie.636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Do you do weekly water changes? You may want to consider getting a skimmer. It will help.

Also be sure to clean the penguin filter weekly or bi-weekly as well as replace filter pads regularly.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 10:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: botetort co virginia
Posts: 686
Check phosphate levels. They are probly pretty high.
Also is the tank any where that it get natural sun light? If so that will make algae a nightmare.
__________________
Nimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 08:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Do you use tap or RODI water for changes and top offs?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:48 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Brilliant_Barbs_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
Do you use tap or RODI water for changes and top offs?
Exactly the question I was about to ask. If you don't use RODI then that's the culprit.
__________________
Brilliant_Barbs_21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 10:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post
Check phosphate levels. They are probly pretty high. Also is the tank any where that it get natural sun light? If so that will make algae a nightmare.
Agreed they are/WERE high but would probably show up at 0 due to being consumed by the algae. There is an apparent issue it just needs to be realized.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 10:41 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: botetort co virginia
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post

Agreed they are/WERE high but would probably show up at 0 due to being consumed by the algae. There is an apparent issue it just needs to be realized.
Phosphates could be being added with water changes if not useing RO water. I personaly dont use RO water I have phosphates in my tap water but I use a phosphate reactor and protien skimmers. Phosphates go up with water changes but the reactor takes them back down.
__________________
Nimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 10:49 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

Phosphates could be being added with water changes if not useing RO water. I personaly dont use RO water I have phosphates in my tap water but I use a phosphate reactor and protien skimmers. Phosphates go up with water changes but the reactor takes them back down.
No, phosphates go down by a wc, phosphate reactors and GFO just absorb them. The reason your phosphates go up when you do a wc is because you dont use RODI water. We cant really help OP until he gives us some missing info...

EDIT: just saw that you said they go up Without useing RODI water :p
__________________

__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.