Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-01-2006, 08:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 395
Algae Outbreak...

I have just recently changed my lighting from a standard 20 watt bulb to a 2x65 watt coralife fixture. I havent had any algea problems for a good year now, but a brown (looks like a diatom outbreak) algea is now covering everything! I also recently moved the rocks around last week, stirring up the sand and added one damsel yesterday to a tank that has been stockless for a while. Mind you that this tank has been up and running for two years. Any thoughts?

Water parameters as of now.

Nitrate:20-40 ppm (high i know, it gone up from last week. Was about 10-20)
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Alkalinity: 300 ppm
pH: 8.4
Ammonia: 0-.25 ppm

Any way i can bring Nitrate down, and how big of water changes should i do a day since my water its reading 0 ppm?
__________________

__________________
29 gallon under construction
TeenReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 09:28 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Do you have a skimmer, that will remove DOC. This will remove nitrates. Maybe a HOB refuge. A few ideas
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 09:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
Stirring up the sand bed is most likely the culprit for the rise in nitrates. As stated, use a skimmer and do some water changes. Also, depending on your feeding schedule, you can cut back to every other day.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 10:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 395
i dont have a skimmer, just a HOTB filter and live rock/sand. I will try 2 gallon water changes over the next couple of days. I have cut back on the feeding schedule, even though i only have one fish!
__________________
29 gallon under construction
TeenReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 11:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Stirring the sand an moving the LR probably caused your tank to do a mini cycle. be sure to keep a eye on water quality.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 11:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 395
ok, thanks brenden. wish we still had the kudos program and id be dishin them out to you a lot it seems! thanks for the advice!
__________________
29 gallon under construction
TeenReefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 11:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Welcome. Just be sure to check the NO2 level.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 01:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to Ayesha97 Send a message via Yahoo to Ayesha97
I feel your pain TeenReefer, I just upgraded my lighting a few weeks ago and am dealing with a large diatom/algae outbreak. Its frustrating because I've had it up and running for 2 years now and its been fine...

What are the lighting recommendations for a tank? Should the length of light be cut back?
__________________
Marlin: Okay, a mollusk walks up to this sea cucumber, well he doesn't actually walk, he's just there, and he turns to the sea cucumber, and... Well, wait, there's a mollusk and a sea cucumber and...
Chum: You know for a clown fish, he's not that funny.
Ayesha97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 05:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
I just did a large change also and I had a diatom bloom too. It has seemed to settle after a week or so.
__________________

__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, outbreak

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brown algae outbreak bobothefish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-19-2009 06:18 PM
Algae Outbreak!!! sedonawrx Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 01-17-2007 06:35 PM
What caused my algae outbreak? 808 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-17-2006 01:38 PM
Algae Outbreak seacat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-14-2004 05:59 PM
Algae Outbreak jasonv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-29-2004 10:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.