Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2004, 07:36 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
Algae problem on substrate

My tank has been running for about 5 months now and the water parameters are good with NO2=0, NO3=0, PO4=0.01, CA=400, KH=11. But I still get a minor algae problem on my argonite substrate.

If you look at the photo, it is not a major problem, but rather very unsightly. I have replaced some new argonite over the top, but the algae will just grow on it within a couple of weeks.

My question is, is anyone out there having similar problem or just me? And is there something I can do to eliminate this?
__________________

__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 07:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
look into snails or hermits. margarita snails, mex turbos, blue leg hermits. are some examples. Add a few and see what happens, if they are working on it but it is growing too fast get a few more.
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 08:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
I have a dozen of red hermits and a dozen of astraea and 3 turbos. They don't seem to help at all. I think the problem is because the algae is very short, it is like a fine coat over the substrate. It never grows any longer than what is shown in the photo.
__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 09:43 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
My Mexican Turbo Grazers take care of the top of my sand layer, but with the argonite I'm willing to bet you'll have more problems becuase they can't get to all of it.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algae in substrate skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-01-2009 02:51 PM
algae on substrate Clint3240 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 03-18-2009 10:25 PM
New 55 gal with sand substrate problem... dhawkercp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 02-11-2009 02:33 PM
Algae Near Substrate theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-27-2007 01:35 PM
How can i kill off substrate algae? Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 08-05-2007 07:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.