Algae question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JodiW

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all!

I think this is my first time posting although I've been hanging around for a little while.

My tank is almost 6 months old. I currently have 3 fish and some snails (see my signature for the full tank stats). I've got quite a bit of green (non-hairy) algae on the glass, substrate and on all the dead coral and other decorative pieces in my tank. There are what I believe to be copepods all over the green algae, which I have read is a good thing. I'm scraping most of the tank glass to keep it clear of algae but leaving the bottom half of the back algae encrusted for whatever good that does. :) I had to purchase a hard plastic scraper to remove it, the fuzzy scraper wasn't working.

So the question is - am I right in believing that this green algae is ok? I first got the brown stuff (guessing that was diatoms or however it's spelled), then as that went away, the green took over. It is everywhere. The snails would eat the brown but will not touch the green. My tang picks at it on the coral and substrate but makes very little progress in cleaning it up. I just want to make sure it's not something I should be concerned about...and I'm also not too pleased with how gross it makes the tank look. I would like my white and blue coral and pink barnacle back...everything is green now. :cry: So any info or suggestions for the algae would be greatly appreciated. I do have photos of it if needed.