Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-10-2014, 10:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
Algae scrubber help

I am going to experiment with a scrubber but to get the flow to it I am going to use my drain from display. Do you guys have any opinions on this? I have a mag drive 18 with 7 feet of head.
__________________

__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 11:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
That is how both mine are powered . If you have any specific questions let me know .

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 01:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
What type of light are you using & did you have to seed the plastic screen before first use?
__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 01:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Just some clamp lamps and 2700 k swirly compact fluorescent. No seeding but it does take about a month for the scrubber to establish itself .

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 04:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
Opinion on feeding it from phosban reactor?
__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 04:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
I wouldn't try it for two reasons .1 I doubt you will get the flow you need after the reactor. 2. You want to send the full nutrient rich water to the scrubber . If you remove nutrients before it might not have enough left to grow properly thereby making it less effective .

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 04:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
Sounds like sound advice, I'll try my drain but I'm worried that I'll no longer have a sock on my setup.
__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 04:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
How many drains do you have ? If you only have one just T it off. This way if the slot ever gets clogged it will still drain . It also will allow you to install a ball valve before the slot so you can adjust the flow. Also don't forget to install a plumbing union before the slot pipe so you can remove it easily for cleaning . If it makes you feel better both of my systems don't use filter socks .

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 05:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Jimbo C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 138
I have one drain y'd into refugium and skimmer section. I was going to use the drain that spills into the refuge.
__________________
Jimbo C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 07:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Sounds like a plan to me . Just make sure you can get the lights 5 inches from the screen . That is one of the harder parts of fitting one into an existing setup.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.