Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-03-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
clark4feathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: california
Posts: 422
Send a message via Skype™ to clark4feathers
Algea line around substate

I have this line of algea around the edge of my sand crushed coral mix what can I do to abolish it. Have a good cuc.
__________________

__________________
Tammy, Elbow deep in saltwater....
clark4feathers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 11:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: s.cali
Posts: 788
Send a message via Yahoo to harmy4993
Hehe is this community news or is this classified as an announcement.
__________________

__________________
Daniel M.
follow my 75 gallon reef thread and say hello
75-gallon-reef-build-in-progress
fan of http://www.reefcleaners.org/
harmy4993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
clark4feathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: california
Posts: 422
Send a message via Skype™ to clark4feathers
oooops!

posted from my phone......
__________________
Tammy, Elbow deep in saltwater....
clark4feathers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
logansmomma1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,470
Send a message via Yahoo to logansmomma1228
Lol you can get a mod to move it
__________________
~LM~ (My tanks)
When in doubt, do a water change!

If someone gives good advice, thank them with some rep points!
logansmomma1228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: s.cali
Posts: 788
Send a message via Yahoo to harmy4993
Lol no problem. It will get moved soon. Sorry dont have an answer for you.
__________________
Daniel M.
follow my 75 gallon reef thread and say hello
75-gallon-reef-build-in-progress
fan of http://www.reefcleaners.org/
harmy4993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:34 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to SW side.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
clark4feathers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: california
Posts: 422
Send a message via Skype™ to clark4feathers
Thanks, next time it is eye glasses and my lap top
__________________
Tammy, Elbow deep in saltwater....
clark4feathers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: s.cali
Posts: 788
Send a message via Yahoo to harmy4993
I can help in one way.

They will want to know water parmiters. Lighting and lighting schedule, live stock and feeding schedule. And if you dose anything. Also any chances to the tank recently.
__________________
Daniel M.
follow my 75 gallon reef thread and say hello
75-gallon-reef-build-in-progress
fan of http://www.reefcleaners.org/
harmy4993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 01:24 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
There are several different initial algae blooms that happen in a new tank. Really nothing you can do about it. just keep up with your PWCs and your CUC and your tank will sort itself it.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 01:47 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If you have a CC mix then I would think about vacuuming your substrate. CC because the pieces are so big will trap and hold waste thus feeding your algea that you mentioned.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algea, line

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing substate. please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FiShDuDe9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 08-19-2009 12:20 AM
Substate to go with Eco-complete and questions Musket Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 18 07-13-2006 11:40 PM
Which substate? Rsquared333 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 23 10-14-2004 04:58 PM
Changing Substate - Can I mix CC and sand? cybercron Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-28-2004 07:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.