Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2011, 01:41 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bunbury22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by vshawn

I would say try to place powerhead on sides of glass 3inch from water line and 3 inch from back wall both pointing toasted toward the front glass play with height from water line if need be. You will also benefit from more live rock recommended is 1-2 lbs per gallon. What are your ammonia nitrite nitrate now curios if your having another cycle cuz if you add more live you may anyway
I checked them yesterday and they were super low I don't remember the exact amounts. Yes I have only like 35 lbs of lr but I need more.
__________________

__________________
bunbury22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:05 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bunbury22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 38
Phosphates .05 ppm and nitrates 0 ppm, ammonia I don't have them
__________________

__________________
bunbury22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:21 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunbury22 View Post
Phosphates .05 ppm and nitrates 0 ppm, ammonia I don't have them
Cool, now based on the amount of LR you have and the amount of fish you listed previous the bio-load was probably to high and stirring sand bed probably took it over the top.

Do you have HOB or sump filtration?
Do you have a skimmer?
__________________
vshawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:22 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
You can skim the sanded, just don't physically stir it up.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:51 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SAAVE853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 275
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
You can skim the sanded, just don't physically stir it up.
Couldn't have said it better myself

__________________
Live & Let Live!
SAAVE853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 04:37 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bunbury22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 38
Does that happen even if I took only like 5% of the sand out of the tank with the siphon it was kind of just skimming?
__________________
bunbury22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 04:45 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SAAVE853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 275
It's not about how much you took out, if it was b/c of your sand then it's b/c you stirred up too much and your live rock couldn't handle the load of trash to process.
__________________
Live & Let Live!
SAAVE853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 05:01 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bunbury22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 38
Oh ok I did not know that. I really don't want to go tru that again I felt like a loser lol. Would it be better if I have my live rock in the middle of the tank to try to avoid dead spots?
__________________
bunbury22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 05:13 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Scotty09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 315
Buy more live rock that's ur next goal I'd say u got hardly any
__________________
Scotty09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:29 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
bunbury22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 38
I have 20 lbs of live rock in another tank and I'm just going to get rid of the eel and transfer those rocks over to this 55g tank. I also want to to get a canopy before I start my addition of fishes
__________________

__________________
bunbury22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
die, died

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vacuumed and fish died, help? Chrissy420 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 10-06-2011 12:06 PM
Am I doing this right? (Betta died, prepping tank for new one) mandy2936 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-02-2011 03:06 PM
Fishes That Will Not Eat Shrimps Manix Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 27 10-01-2011 03:08 PM
Panda Cory Died :'( Mr.Albiman Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 16 07-19-2011 01:05 PM
350 l Ideas for community fishes?? Harry Vysekal Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-15-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.