alternative water sterilization

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JoshD

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all. I am still new to the hobby, although i have been going strong for close to three years. But i was wondering if there were any other methods of "sterilizing" water. I have been using R.O. water since the start but the cost is getting to be too much at 1:8. I have heard the term "cold sterilization" or "cold Filtration" but i dont know much about them nor can i find anything. perhaps i am not looking hard enough, so now i turn to you in hopes of finding a better way. Thank you in advance for your time and help.
-JoshD-

Look into Kati/Ani Deionization units. They have a higher upfront cost, but there is no waste water and the resins can be recharged.

Regarding "cold sterilization", I'm guessing you're referring to Poly Bio Marine's "Kold Ster-il" unit. Info here...Poly-Bio-Marine

The literature on it, as far as I can tell, is true... but it's not "pure" water by any means. I started my tank using just a Kold Ster-il unit, but after a few months I realized that there was still "stuff" sneaking through the filters that I just didn't know what it was. I ended up buying a dual cannister DI system to put inline after the Kold Steril unit. This gives me pure water, no waste, and I can flow water through it in the 60 gallons/hour range.

BUT... if you think the waste water from an RO system is expensive, then this type of system isn't for you. I replace a cannister of DI resin every couple months. At $10+ a shot, it's not cheap.

RO/DI is the cheapest way to get pure water there is. Anything else will either be more expensive, or not be as pure.

Is there a way you could continue to use the waste water like have it go in your washing machine or save it in jugs for watering flowers or grass. Just some suggestions that I use it for.