Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-13-2012, 05:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
aaronalam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Ammonia...

I recently setup a tank to put my clarkii pair and it is to be used as a spawning tank, I've added sand from my display and a few good size pieces of well matured live rock.

It obviously isn't handling the ammonia though - I'm around 1.0ppm now, maybe slightly more.

What do to now? Water change/Add more sand/Add more rock/Put clarkiis back in display?

Thanks for any advice!
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon Reef / GSP / Yellow Button Polyps / Many Zoas / Chromis / Lemon Damsel / Clownfish
70 Gallon Freshwater
35 Gallon Axolotl Tank
aaronalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 49
You need to let your tank cycle. Let it run without fish for awhile. Add a few Hermit Crabs during cycling. Once your tank is cycled, you shouldn't even be able to measure detect ammonia.
__________________

__________________
julielover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
aaronalam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
I know I need to cycle it but I was thinking that the mature sand & mature live rock would have enough bacteria anyway.

I think I'll have to cycle though, this isn't working.
__________________
20 Gallon Reef / GSP / Yellow Button Polyps / Many Zoas / Chromis / Lemon Damsel / Clownfish
70 Gallon Freshwater
35 Gallon Axolotl Tank
aaronalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronalam View Post
I know I need to cycle it but I was thinking that the mature sand & mature live rock would have enough bacteria anyway.

I think I'll have to cycle though, this isn't working.
those may speed up the start of the cycle but it still needs to go thru the process, the successful reefer must have patience and take no short cuts. Short cuts will only cost you $
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Yeah if you're going to leave the fish in there, it's going to need a lot of water changes. I would try your best to keep it under .5.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
aaronalam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
I'm just going to remove the fish and put them back into the display for now, gotta do it right!

Appreciate all the replies.
__________________
20 Gallon Reef / GSP / Yellow Button Polyps / Many Zoas / Chromis / Lemon Damsel / Clownfish
70 Gallon Freshwater
35 Gallon Axolotl Tank
aaronalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
best thing for your fish
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
aaronalam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Ammonia has dropped ALOT through the day, barely measurable now.

I guess the extra live rock I put in there last night held enough bacteria... Will probably move fish regardless.
__________________
20 Gallon Reef / GSP / Yellow Button Polyps / Many Zoas / Chromis / Lemon Damsel / Clownfish
70 Gallon Freshwater
35 Gallon Axolotl Tank
aaronalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Did it drop after removing them or are they still in there?
Keep a good eye on it There's no such thing as instant cycles but they can be really fast with a lot of live rock.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:58 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
aaronalam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
They are still in there, going to re-test the ammonia in a minute but hopefully it's gone now.
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon Reef / GSP / Yellow Button Polyps / Many Zoas / Chromis / Lemon Damsel / Clownfish
70 Gallon Freshwater
35 Gallon Axolotl Tank
aaronalam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.