Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-11-2013, 10:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Ammonia from dry rock

I bought approximately 40 lbs of dry rock from BRS and have been getting tons of ammonia production from them. Is it normal for that to happen?
__________________

__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 12:52 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
How did you figure out the ammonia is coming from dry rock? Have you already set up your new tank with salt water and just dry rock?
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
How did you figure out the ammonia is coming from dry rock? Have you already set up your new tank with salt water and just dry rock?
Yep. In fact, I had some rubble sitting in a bucket of water that I had cleaned very thoroughly. I tested the water in that bucket and the ammonia reading was well above what my chart can read
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
I have never used dry rock before but IMO ammonia is beneficial when cycling tank. It boosts the regeneration of bacteria converting it to LR.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I was originally planning on using it for a hyposalinity treatment because I have ich in my DT. I was buying the dry rock at the same time so I figured I might as well set the rocks up in the tank to give the fish some rock work to hide in. I set up the rocks added water and got the salinity to where I wanted it, waited a couple days and added a sponge from my DT thinking it would help get things started to keep ammonia levels down.

Right before I started acclimitizing the fish to the lower salinity, I checked the levels of the tank on a whim and it had a 6ppm ammonia reading
__________________
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
LR or substrate in QT is not necessary when you are treating with hyposalinity. The reason is that low salinity slows down the activity of bacteria. That is why PVC tube is recommended in place of LR as hiding places.
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, dry, dry rock, rock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.