Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2011, 08:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Wael El-Dasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Abu Dhabi, via Connecticut
Posts: 181
Ammonia in DT

I have 110 liter DT with powerhead and corner filter. I've had filled with no fish for a while now. It's bare bottom.

I want to have this tank always ready but it seems that ammonia levels are always in the 4 range. Should I add some LR? I plan to add meds to this tank if needed. I was thinking of removing the LR if I do add meds but keep it if I have to use it for new fish.

Would adding LR help with the ammonia?

Any ideas?

Regards

Wael
__________________

__________________
Wael El-Dasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:24 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Where is the ammonia coming from?
A source of ammonia is necessary to feed the beneficial bacteria. If you want to maintain a QT tank you need to feed it to keep the bacteria alive.

If you are not adding a source of ammonia it doesn't make sense that you are seeing ammonia.

Who else has access to the tank?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 11:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Wael El-Dasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Abu Dhabi, via Connecticut
Posts: 181
That's a good point. I had several fish in there before and used Seachem ParaGuard in there for treatment. After treatment I made a PWC and added the carbon filter back in. It's been fishless for about 1 month. I added bacteria to keep the filters replenished a few times.

Perhaps I should start adding bacteria again fir 10 days as though it's a new tank. I thought adding the LR would help the filters establish the colonies and I'd keep the LR in there unless I use meds again.

Do you think that would work? I really dint want to add any sand because it would defeat the point of the QT.
__________________
Wael El-Dasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this ammonia ok? Homedog98 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-04-2011 09:24 PM
Ammonia ronin33 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 02-22-2009 04:10 PM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
cant get ammonia down Dayna Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-13-2004 11:56 PM
Ammonia up nitch Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 10-31-2003 04:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.