Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-15-2003, 08:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 78
Ammonia level in Quarantine tank

Hi all,
How high can you let the ammonia level get in a quarantine tank between water changes? Obviously I realize 0 would be optimal, but that does not seem possible with no biological filtration.
thanks
travis
__________________

__________________
Travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 08:41 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
but that does not seem possible with no biological filtration.
IMO, the only time you may be without biological filtration in your Q-tank is if you are medicating and the meds crash your filter. If you have a small HOB filter like a biowheel, or a sponge filter they can be run on the main tank when the Q-tank is not set up and you only need move it over when you set up the q-tank. If you are doing a completely filterless q-tank, you need to be doing daily 50% water changes and that may not keep up with it for long.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 08:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 78
Reef,
Thanks for the reply. The QT is running at small HOB filter. However, it is just not enough to keep up with the ammonia. The HOB was run on the Main system just like you said. It helps for sure but I am still picking up some ammonia. I just want to know at what point ammonia becomes a problem so I can do things accordingly. Thanks
__________________
Travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 08:56 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I would say if your having ammonia build up to any measurable level (I am assuming the kit is reliable and can read 0 ammonia). it is time for a water change. If it is low levels that don't get above a certain point I would be doing water changes every couple or three days and using a product like amquel + (detoxifies ammonia and nitrite) on interim days. You will need a salycillate test kit to measure ammonia if using amquel.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 08:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 78
Great info....thanks Kevin.
__________________
Travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, level, quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't get ammonia level down abfab Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 10-17-2008 03:03 PM
Ammonia level Majik Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 09-27-2007 08:41 AM
Ammonia Level sdellin Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-25-2005 08:24 PM
Ammonia level Techboy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 08-24-2003 07:21 PM
How to reduce ammonia level in the tank? mansiz Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-23-2003 03:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.