Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-29-2008, 12:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
ammonia Peak help :x

I have a 20L gallon tank and I dont know what im doin wrong but every time I do the 20% water change the ammonia goes up to 1, I also put ammo lock and I do water changes every week.

4 years ago I set up a tank, and I didnt had any problems, I had 8 fishes, completely healthy, but 2 years ago I moved so I gave all my fishes.

A month ago I started to set up the tank again with only one fish, all the equipment is new, except the tank. I used to have a skilter and an aditional filer but now I have a skimmer and a filter for a 20 g tank.
__________________

__________________
kariina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
How did you cycle the tank is it cycled? how long has it been setup? and what do you have currently inside the tank what exactly do you have for equipment? How are you testing what are you testing for and how often? All of this info will help to diagnose the problem
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:50 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
In additon to Fiji's questions, what is your water source?
Have you tested that for ammonia?
Do you have any rock in the tank and is it cured?
And....


cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by kariina View Post
I have a 20L gallon tank and I dont know what im doin wrong but every time I do the 20% water change the ammonia goes up to 1, I also put ammo lock and I do water changes every week. ...
Along with cmor's line of questions... sure sounds like your water source is giving you an issue. Ammo Lock will render the ammonia harmless, but you'll still get an ammonia reading using test kits. I think it mentions this somewhere in the directions, or at least on the API website. Personally... that's why I don't like the stuff for normal use. If you still test positive for ammonia, how do you know if it's "seeing" the locked up ammonia, or just plain ammonia?!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
OK..well its been about a month.. currently I have one damselfish (the one that is black and has a shiny blue stripe running from its nose to the back) and a small crab, and a five pound live rock.

They have been there from the beggining and dont seem to be bothered by it at all. They look healthy and are eating regularly. Because of the ammonia ive cut down on the feeding out of fear of overfeeding. When i do feed them they gobble everything up pretty fast. So appetite is not an issue. Overall thefish look good but every time i test the levels they are all over the place. By the way ..my ph is also lower than it should be.
__________________
kariina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Also, the water is tap water, however before doing the change i do add a clorine neutralizer before adding that water. I read you should add plenty..so I add a cap that is fore 10 gallons for every two gallons that i change. So im assuming that the tap water shouldnt be an issue.

If it is ..what water should i use?
__________________
kariina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 03:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
The quality of tap water can really vary place to place, and even within the same area be really inconsistent. One day it might be great, the next week it might be chocked full of nitrates and phosphates. Many people choose to invest in a RO/DI filter of their own to produce pure water. Others buy RO/DI water from their local fish store, and others buy it from the grocery story. And of course, there are others that use tap water just like and have no issues.

But it sounds like you have an ammonia issue. Did you start using the ammo lock because you found ammonia in the water? Or did you just use it because that's what someone said to do? Also... I wouldn't overdose on the chlorine neutralizer. Pretty sure the directions are conservative to start with, and it's just that many more chemicals you're putting in your tank that probably don't need to be there. Maybe some of the chemists out there in the forum that know how those neutralizers work can tell us if overdosing on that could give you a false reading for ammonia.

And now that I've reread this thread... I'll ask the question again others have asked - did you cycle the tank? Did you see an ammonia spike, followed by a nitrite spike, and eventually those two things drop to zero and be replaced by a slowly increasing level of nitrates? That's what you should see during a cycle. If you didn't cycle your tank, then well... you are now. And ammonia is the first think you'll see.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 03:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
I guess that its cycling then...but the ammonia is at 1.0 right now..


just let it be?
__________________
kariina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 04:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Cycling is the process of establishing the bacteria in your tank that you need to convert ammonia (bad) into nitrites (bad), and then the nitrites (bad) into nitrates (OK for fish only... not so good for corals). You need to cycle the tank and you can't avoid it.

Here are a couple articles to get you started...

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ate/Page1.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ank/Page1.html

Putting ammo lock in isn't going to get your tank cycled. You NEED an ammonia source to cycle a tank. Read over the article on "fishless" cycling and you might want to rethink the restart of your tank, take the fish back, and start over again. You probably also are going to want more live rock - closer to 20-30 lbs - and this would be a great time to add it.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 04:53 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
An ammonia reading of 1.0 is enough to burn the gills of the fish. You really should get all livestock out of the tank (back to the lfs?) and do a fishless cycle.

During the cycle your pH readings can be all over the place. You should slow down now and take the time to get everything rright before moving forward. That is the way to a succesful tank. Read the articles that have been posted.

Please post a list of all the equipment you have (make and model) or post a pic of it if you don't know.
Check localy for a source of RODI (reverse osmosis/de-ionized) water and start using that for your water changes (pwc's).

I note that you used to have 8 fish in that tank? What were they and how long did you have them? That is a lot of fish for a 20 gallon tank. I have 9 in a 125 gallon tank.

Did you ever treat the tank with copper based medicing (for Ich)?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling and today at 10pm I have a nitrite peak to 5.0 kaz Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 06-21-2006 03:08 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
ammonia i have crabs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 01-15-2005 11:09 PM
Cycle Peaks....what are some common peak toxin levels? kidafius Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-29-2003 06:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.