Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2004, 10:11 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 107
AMMONIA sPIKE

I put 3 fish into QT for ich... treating with copper. this morning my ammonia read .5. Whats going on? I have a piece of live rock in the tank, my lfs said to put a small piece in it when i cycled it. Could that be why? Is the copper killing the bacteria in the LR?
__________________

__________________
snowdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 10:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Well, the rock will absorb the med and the meds will kill the rock. I would remove it. It will make your copper levels screwy.
As for the ammonia , you will need to do water changes to keep it down. This is to be expected, went through it myself.
Sorry, but you lfs is wrong, the qt tank needs to be bare bottom, you can use some pvc elbows for the fish to hide in.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 11:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 107
onym="Local Fish Store"][acronym="Local Fish Store"]lfs[/acronym] is wrong, the qt tank needs to be bare bottom, quote]

i think he intended for me to only leave it in while it was cyceling... I should have had more sense to remove it before treatment. Anyhow its out now. Its a 12 gal tank, should i do a 5 gal water change today?
__________________
snowdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 11:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Got it, yes I would remove it. No disrespect intended for you lfs.
Even if you cycled the tank, the copper will kill of the bacteria.
5 gallons is a lot, I would do about 2 and retest. Depending on the bioload, you may need to do them daily. I treated 10 fish for velvet using a 40 gallon tank, was running buckets downstairs every day. :|
Good luck.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ammonia spike, spike

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got an Ammonia Spike? Tank2379 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 02-08-2009 09:50 AM
Ammonia Spike..... ikon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-16-2007 10:46 PM
Ammonia spike- any more I can do? sarah5775 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 10 04-04-2007 08:07 PM
Ammonia spike? Reese Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-28-2005 05:09 PM
ammonia spike MiniReef2004 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 03-20-2005 11:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.