Any refugium gurus out there?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishmonkey

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey guys! I've been away from the forum/hobby for quite some time now, but I am back and need some advice! We're going to be remodeling the house next year, and I would like to have a large tank (at least 150g), so I am trying to do as much planning as I can on each part of the tank, and right now I need some clarification on my refugium idea. I have never done a refugium before, but I think I have the idea of what I want:

Basically the idea would be a refugium/frag tank that is separate from the sump, that is in a long tank split up with baffles to make compartments that would then overflow into the next compartment. I'm not sure how many compartments, but one could be used for mangroves with a (possible) DSB bottom; then in the next compartment have chaeto, which could have its own tumbling jet system; then whatever else in the next compartment, and then finally empty into the last compartment, which could be a frag tank. That way any pods or whatnot could flow directly over the corals, and then the water would be emptied into the return section of the sump, to avoid the skimmer.

lighting could easily be a separate bulb fixture for each compartment, and then a DIY LED system for the frag compartment

Any ideas? Suggestions? Problems? Sorry I was kind of rambling :whistle:, I've got the idea in my head, but I'm having trouble putting it in message form :lol:

First thing, don't go with a 150. Go with a 180. It's got a much better footprint and is shorter top to bottom, which will make it easier to reach the bottom.

Mangroves are a waste of time unless you have many of them, or a very large one. Those little sprouts you see sold will do nothing for your water quality. IMO, they are more of a conversation piece than anything else.