Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-17-2003, 02:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
Anyone have auto-topoff go wrong??

I was wondering if anyone has ever had an auto-topoff unit stay on and or stick and flood there tank with fresh water or have water go all over the floor from it. This is the only worry I have of an auto-topoff unit. I was looking at this float switch on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=46310

TIA,
Josh
__________________

__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 02:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Like everything mechanical, over time, they will fail. Its a fact of life. However, cleaning the unit regularly will lengthen its lifespan considerable. I know one person who has been using the same float switch for 7 years now.

I don't use auto top off, but only because it is not possible for me to do so. If I could, I would.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 03:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
I just orderd some of these switches and was worried about this so.... my idea is

place one float switch in the sump and wire it directly into the powerhead that will be in a 8 gallon bucket of water. Then the second float switch will be placed at the top of my tank and will be wired into a surge protector. I'll then plug in the power head into the surge protector.

So what will happen is if the first float switch in my sump fails and keeps pumping water the second float switch in the tank will turn the surge protector off.

For this to work somehow I'll have to figure out how to wire it up so the second float switch is constant all the time and makes a break in the electirc when it is activated. Kind of reverse how they are meant to work.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 04:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Reversing the switch is easy, most of those type of switches have a clip on the bottom that can be removed. Once removed, you take the float off of the center post and flip it upside down.
One word of warning, that switch is rated for 20 watts, that is why they are so cheap. I was using one that was rated for 30 watts with an Aquaclear 401 pump and damaged the contacts so that the pump was "stuck" in the on position. Wiring a second switch as a shutoff switch will work to prevent overflows though. Also, some people put the whole topoff system on a timer so that it only can run a couple of times a day, this is a second back up method. Just be sure your pump isn't overdrawing the switch...I've since been told that maxi-jet pumps have a lower start up current draw...this is what damages the switch, a high start up current. When the pump receives the power it draws more current to get started then what the operating current on the box is posted as being. Good Luck!
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 04:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
Thanks guys that really helps
__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What auto topoff system do you use? chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-05-2007 02:30 PM
Designing Sump with Auto Topoff WhiteCloud Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-29-2006 10:37 AM
Non-electric auto-topoff for ro system luckycat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-15-2005 01:45 AM
My plan for an auto-topoff system Bearfan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-07-2005 03:12 PM
Auto Topoff Valve sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2004 07:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.