Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-26-2013, 10:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
Anyone tried the algae vac

Saw it advertised in a magazine. Doing the best I can to get parameters back in check. In the meantime I'm trying to keep tis algae from getting completely out of control. Has anyone ever tried it.
__________________

__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i usually just use a 1/2" hose to syphone water out and whatever algae with it, it gets clogged up a bit but its easy to control and easy to unclog so i am able to get alot of algae off in a 5 gallon change.

you can also put some water back in from the changing bucket and do another round of syphoning to get more algae off. i wouldn't waste money on a so called vacuum when a tube will do the same thing and will cost you a few bucks
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
The hair algae is short in most of the places and it just won't let go. The algae is sucked up into the hose but stays put when I move the hose.
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 01:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Try a emerald crab or two.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo View Post
i usually just use a 1/2" hose to syphone water out and whatever algae with it, it gets clogged up a bit but its easy to control and easy to unclog so i am able to get alot of algae off in a 5 gallon change.

you can also put some water back in from the changing bucket and do another round of syphoning to get more algae off. i wouldn't waste money on a so called vacuum when a tube will do the same thing and will cost you a few bucks
Just get a filter sock, clip it in your sump and syphon into that with out losing water
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
I do run dual filtersocks in the sump. I thought about that but if I siphon into sump it will overflow. Not quite sure I understand what you mean. I can run the pump bit it will be overwhelmed with the overflow and the siphon.
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Siphoning into the sump is no different than having two over flows. Shouldn't over flow the sump. Try it and watch. If it gets close then stop
__________________
boosted_msp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Smaller hose has higher suction. I use the air line tubing to suck hair algae. A straw for soda fits snugly to the tubing and it becomes a stiff nozzle. A plastic rod from blinder can be tied to the tubing as your wand and reach the bottom of your tank without submerging your hands.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by boosted_msp View Post
Siphoning into the sump is no different than having two over flows. Shouldn't over flow the sump. Try it and watch. If it gets close then stop
This depends on the capacity of your return pump and the size of tubing you use for suction. It will definitely overflow if more water is moved to the sump than the pump can transfer back to the DT.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
What runs through the siphon is that much less that will not go through the over flow. The total amount going to the sump should be the same.
__________________

__________________
boosted_msp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.