Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2005, 04:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
born2chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to born2chill
Anyone with a Aquac Remora Pro Please help

I posted this in another thread without receiving a concrete answer and I would like to know a definite answer before spending $230 on this thing.

I am very interested in the AquaC Remora Pro as a hang on protein skimmer, but I am not sure if I will be able to use it. My tank has some extra glass
paneling on the top of it at the front and back of my tank. The
paneling measures 2.25 inches wide and it is 3.25 inches from the top
of it. I have attached a picture of my tank so you can get a better
idea of what I'm talking about.

So my question is, can I still use the AquaC Remora Pro on my tank? TIA


[/img]
__________________

__________________
born2chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:37 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
The remora pro only has a 2" space to sit on the tank. It's not going to fit over that extra peice of glass.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:39 AM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
I think it will work but you may have to connect some tubing to the pump input to move it away from the glass. The water return should not hit. I know we were talking about this before and this is pretty much the same answer i gave you! It is hard to give a concrete answer with out seeing the tank in person.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 08:44 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Darin is right, with some modifications, you could make it work.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 01:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
born2chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to born2chill
Where would I buy this extra tubing from? I also might be able to fit the tube in the area of the tank that has no glass right in the corners.
__________________
born2chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 01:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 16
You can get the tubing from any hardware store like home depot.

Is there anyway you could take that peice of glass off?
__________________
Studies show the more birthdays you have the longer you live.
Fenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 02:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
born2chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to born2chill
I think the glass pieces are siliconed together for some reason. I have no clue why this was done. I don't think there is any safe way to get rid of this glass.

I guess I'll bite the bullet and order the remora pro. For being helpful and patient with me, I'll be placing the order at captivereefs.com shortly. Thanks for your help Darin.
__________________
born2chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 307
Send the question to Aqua C. Give them the dimension (fax) and they will tell you for sure.
They usualy answer the same day.
__________________
Emancipate yourself from mental slavery,
No one but ourselves can free our minds.
Bob Marley
swissfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 04:28 PM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
They may also offer to make you a custom skimmer if need be.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 07:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
born2chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to born2chill
Aquac just emailed me back saying:

Unfortunately with the extra
paneling on your tank, the Remora would not be able to hang on the tank.
The intake arm clearance is 1-1/2" and the water return ledge clearance is
1-3/8". The Remoras are our only models that do not require a sump and I'm
sorry to say that we wouldn't have a skimmer that could be used with your
tank's extra paneling.


So I guess that the Remora pro is out of the question for me then. Is there any skimmer that could suit my needs given my situation?
__________________

__________________
born2chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, remora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AquaC Remora Pro ? good Saltwater newbie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 05-14-2009 08:36 PM
AquaC Remora Pro Addition FlyingL0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-01-2005 08:15 PM
WTB AquaC Remora Pro vermonter310 Archive 0 03-15-2005 09:31 PM
AquaC Remora PRO skimmer dwish8990 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-22-2005 12:13 AM
Aquac Remora/pro in UK Shultz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-05-2004 05:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.