Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-20-2012, 11:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
edwardclaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 524
Apex?

Ive been looking at the apex controller im not for sure if I should get the jr or lite, I dont need the dispay bc ill beable to do it on my phone or computer. But a couple questions may be kind of stupid but Idk much about it. will I beable to add more outlets if I get the jr idk if 4 will be enough? Should I go with the lite with 8 outlets? Some more idk questions what does it mean by you can add so many moduels? Thanks
__________________

__________________
edwardclaxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by edwardclaxton
Ive been looking at the apex controller im not for sure if I should get the jr or lite, I dont need the dispay bc ill beable to do it on my phone or computer. But a couple questions may be kind of stupid but Idk much about it. will I beable to add more outlets if I get the jr idk if 4 will be enough? Should I go with the lite with 8 outlets? Some more idk questions what does it mean by you can add so many moduels? Thanks
Well i dont have the apex, i have a reefkeeper but i may be able to help with a few questions.

In my opinion you will want the 8 outlets. Usually lighting takes up 2 as many fixturs have mutiple power cords, and heater tanks 1. So that 3 right there. Other things you may need outlets for include ATO, uv sterilizer, reactors, pumps etc.

Modules monitor or control certain aspects like probes(temp,ph, salinty), moon lighting, additional outlet modules etc. the different models have limits number of modules that can be added. This might be of concern depending how many outlets you need and what other modules you may want. Or if you had multiple tanks that you would be controlling that would need a large number of modules.

Im pretty sure you can get more outlets for the jr, but im not 100%, i would have to check it out, maybe someone else here knows.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
DaveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 140
I have the jr version and added a power bar that has 8 outlets. It plugs directly into the main control module. You can control all 12 outlets from computer or phone. Main problem for me is I am an idiot when it comes to computers so I struggled to get it running
__________________
DaveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 10:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
edwardclaxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 524
Ok thanks for helping with the moduels question, and letting me know that I can connect another energy bar to the jr.
__________________
edwardclaxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.