Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2013, 08:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fisshboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 143
Has anyone had any experience with the saltwater test kit made by api? My ammonia reading seemed to be going up and down so i did 4 back to back from the same water and got 4 result from 0-8ppm which one will be correct? I will attach a picture of the 4 test vials thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4180022533.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	171596  
__________________

__________________
Fisshboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
What's the coloured stuff around the top for just curious I use api too and find it to be pretty good just as long as it all is done right
__________________

__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
erichm20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 651
Whoa those are wildly different. I've been using the API master and reef kits and they have been accurate. I have heard, however, that the API tests can sometimes be inacurate. It would appear you have a "bad batch".

4 results that are that different from the same water sample cannot be attributed to dosers, meds or cycling. The only other possibility is contamination of the sample in between tests.
__________________
erichm20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 1,319
I don't use api anymore for that reason, I find that they are not very accurate. Try salifert or red sea pro their more expensive but I find their accurate and worth the money.
__________________
tonedogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:23 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
I notice the level of water on the 3 right vials are not consistent. That explains different readings. I don't know about the one on the left most.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fisshboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 143
I dipped the 4 tubes into the tank water all at the same time so its the exact same water in each then put the ammonia test in all 4 at the same time thats why i don't understand why i got 4 results, all the tubes got washed in warm water thoroughly before i did the test too.

The colored tape around the top is so i know which test tube goes with which test to stop cross contamination of chemicals i just used all 4 for ammonia on this one occasion to see what happened
__________________
Fisshboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Yes I know you dip them at the same water but they are not exactly at 5ml volume. The vial has an indicator line and the water should be on that level before your test.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 01:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fisshboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 143
I dip them then use a syringe to remove water to the line, the one on the far right is a little lower because they leak a bit when shaken
__________________
Fisshboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
If they leak, you'll never get accurate readings. Buy a new one when you get a chance. I have the API kit and no issues like that at all.
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
senemedar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 363
You may want to check the expiry date as well-- I had some issues with my API test kit, and it turned out to be outdated...
__________________

__________________
'When something goes wrong, do what I do-- act normal and pretend that was te plan from the beginning!' - Doctor Who.
senemedar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, salt, saltwater, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.