Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2004, 11:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 78
Aqua C Remora Pro set up question

Hi all,
I have been running the Remora Pro for the last 6 months or so with good results. It came equipped with the Rio 1400, which I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. At any rate I ordered the Mag 3 to replace the RIO and I was wondering if someone could post a pic of how they set up their remora with the mag drive. The skimmer works great, however I am not happy with the way the pump just hangs from the rubber hose. I have not set up an overflow for a sump yet and the pump hanging down is just an eye sore. Any suggestions? Thanks all.
Travis
__________________

__________________
Travis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 12:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
i have one and I piled the rock up in such a manner to hide it. I run a Maxijet 1200 (nice), but I want to know if it will work better if i put on a larger pump like a mag drive?

I also await someones reply.
__________________

ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 02:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
what if ya bought the surface skimmer box if i not mistakin doesnt it hold the pumps ?!?!? i seen the one for the mad drives like $50 which imo id think ya could make a specimen container to do the same if ya handy !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 02:53 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
I dont think it will hold the mag. The maxijet 1200 is a fairly close fit.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 03:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewIt...product=AC3313

holder for a mag 3
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 03:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Wow. I can't see a photo, but this sounds like the answer to my problem, of how to get rid of my HOB. I have been using that to run carbon. I could skim, AND run carbon with this, along with upgrading the pump. Thanks for the info. Thats worth a cool 50 kudos to you!
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 03:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
thought thats what ya was looking for but wasnt sure due to i dont own that skimmer but was thinking about it awhile ago untill i made one for 1/1000 the price hehe thanks though
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 12:24 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Aqua C makes four different surface skimmers. One for each of the pumps that are available with their skimmers. Not only will it hide the pump, it will increase the efficiency of the skimmer by allowing it to draw water from the surface of the tank.
The rest of this post was split to the Lounge as it had wandered off topic a bit and seemed to fit better there.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
remora, set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua-C Remora or Remora Pro - How to make it quieter! Kurt_Nelson General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-19-2007 11:47 AM
Aqua C Remora Pro bonnie3188 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-17-2006 12:36 AM
Aqua C Remora Pro Question fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-08-2006 06:15 PM
Aqua C Remora/Pro scenicad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-25-2004 06:13 PM
Aqua C Remora/Pro nguyen27 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-28-2004 10:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.