Aquarium Cycled?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

obscurereef

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey, I am new to AA and the saltwater hobby so I'm a slightly confused as to if my cycle has completed. I've done a lot of research so I know how a cycle works and such. So 2 months ago I had my tank running smoothly and added ammonia and Dr. Tim's One and Only Nitrifying Bacteria. I've heard that bacteria in a bottle doesn't work, but I just wanted to test it. A couple days later my pump was making loud sounds and pretty much stopped working, so I had to turn it off. The sump (50 gallons, 20 utilized) was getting no filtration and I only had one koralia pump on the main tank which is 70 gallons. Also the heater was off, but I'm sure the temperature was correct since it's summer, and there was so much water evaporated that the salinity was past readable. I just got the pump fixed and everything running again and this is what the readings are:

Salinity: 1.027 ppt
Temp: 82 F (high I know, I'll put a bag of ice in)
pH: 8.2

and yesterday ammonia, nitrite, and nitrAte were all 0 ppm, so I wasn't sure if the tank had cycled or it hadn't even started. So, I added 3-4 ppm of ammonia and today, knowing that if the tank is cycled the ammonia and nitrite should be 0 and nitrate=low within 24 hours. I tester about 12 hrs later after adding the ammonia and the readings have changed to:

Ammonia: 0.25 ppm
Nitrite: 0.25 ppm
NitrAte: 40 ppm

If the ammonia and nitrite are 0 ppm and the nitrate is < 10 later today and tomorrow, does that mean I'll be able to add my first fish? I wouldn't want to add a fish until I knew the water parameters were correct. (y)

Sorry this is so long and thanks so much for taking your time to read this!
:thanks: