Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2012, 09:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Suwanee. GA
Posts: 36
Aquarium top or no top

I recently read that it is good to not have a top on your reef tank since it promotes more oxygen and gas exchange. I have also read that people use a complete top which seals the lid.

I would like to hear what everyone thinks. Top or Topless!!!
__________________

__________________
AquariumAddiction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquariumAddiction
I recently read that it is good to not have a top on your reef tank since it promotes more oxygen and gas exchange. I have also read that people use a complete top which seals the lid.

I would like to hear what everyone thinks. Top or Topless!!!
Topless is definitely the way to go. Only reason i would ever suggest a top is with jumping fish. However even in that case i suggest screen tops. Screen tops allow gas exchange, do no block light and reduce heat buildup compared to solid tops.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I would agree even though I have a bio cube 29 I leave the front lid open. If I had a bigger tank it would be rimless and topless!

I love the no top look, it's clean looking....
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Topless, tank runs a lot cooler! Other benefits already state.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jabibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 282
Topless tank is the way to go. I have alot of wrasses that jump so i built a screen top for it so they can get out. My tank stays very cold to the point that my heater will turn on even when my metal halides are on.
__________________
Jabibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
In my opinion glass tops are just one more thing to clean. The tops at my lfs all look gross due to salt build up, calcium build stuff of that nature. Topless all the way.
__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:44 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Topless for better gas exchange and light penetration! My 36 came with a top and I ditched it quick.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Suwanee. GA
Posts: 36
Cool, thanks everyone. I made a screen out of the plastic screen material you get for lights in a drop down ceiling. It was easy to cut to perfect size and it works great. No light issues and no fish issues either.
__________________
AquariumAddiction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:58 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
I say top...JUST because it KILLS me to hear of fish that jump and die. How hard is it to have at least a screen? Even fish that arent known for jumping can an have done it. Its a big waste of life IMO..so plz have somthing lol.
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 02:21 PM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
The screen for a drop in light is egg crate. You cam get it anywhere amd is pretty cheap. Love the stuff, lots of uses in this hobby for it.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.