Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-02-2005, 11:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Aquascaping Ideas

I need some input on adding live rock to a tank so it looks good. I have a 150 tank and I will be aquascaping with 300 pounds of lr tomorrow, any do's or dont's. This is my first time doing this so any input would be put to use. Will 300 pounds fill the tank up pretty good in your oppinion or will their still be a lot of open space? Trying to get a pic in my head on how to do it but I'm clueless here. HELP,,, lol

Old 02-02-2005, 11:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

This may be obvious, but build the most stable base you can and stack the remaining rocks leaving plenty of room between them for good water flow. You can fill in with Corals later. Recommend not to lean rocks against the glass and to leave at least a few inches clearance in the back. Besides that do what looks best to you. Aquascaping is an art and you will probably find yourself rearranging things until you get them the way you want.

46g SW, 65 lbs Fiji LR, 4" Aragamax DSB, Coralife 2X96w CF, CPR Bakpak II, CPR Aquafuge 12 w/ 2x9 Coralife Mini Aqualight, 4 Maxijet 600's, PCI 200W Titanium Heater, 2 Blue Green Chromis, 1 Gold Bar Maroon Clown, 1 Purple-Stripe Dottyback, Finger Leather, Trumpets, Rose Coral Open-Brain, Pagoda Cup, Xenia, Star Polyps, Yellow Polyps, Various Mushrooms, Toadstool Leather, 12 Astraea, 10 Nassarius, 4 Bumble Bee, 6 Cerith Snails, 12 Red Tip Hermits.
phases99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 11:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak