Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-22-2012, 12:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Aquascaping (recommend..)

Hello fellow reefers,

I'm new to the hobby. I am starting a reef. With one fish in a 14 gallon Biocube.

Livestock:
Clownfish

Coral:
Frogspawn
Red mushroom
Brain looking coral (red)
And pulsating Xenia

I don't know the amount of rock but if you refer to the picture it's not heavily stocked.

1.5 to 2 inches of sand.

Light:
a250w 15K

Questions:
1: lots of people love rock, I like the simpler look I the aquarium. Is it a must to fill the tank to the rim with live rock?

2: recommend any other corals?

3: think I could put an anemone in tank?

Nitrates seem to stay below 20 ppm, as tank matures more I think that will drop.

All other parameters are good.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2083628194.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	116.7 KB
ID:	102056  

Old 06-22-2012, 01:55 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

1) No you don't have to fill it to the brim. With a small bioload you should be ok.
2) With a 250w MH (I'm assuming Metal Halide here?) You can pretty much grow anything. Get whatever corals you like. A nice tabling acro would look sweet mounted at the top of that rock.
3) Yes, you can grow an anemone in that tank. If you want stony corals and an anemone, you need to get those trates down as close to 0 as you can.

Old 06-22-2012, 01:58 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thanks, the light is LED but should cook up any corals too. Yea, being patient with those nitrates. I'd like to put some hard coral sometime, but figures it's to high in nitrates now. Have to figure that one out.
Old 06-23-2012, 04:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

What light fixture do you have? I would love some LEDs...... How much were they?????