Aquascaping (recommend..)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

caseynewton

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello fellow reefers,

I'm new to the hobby. I am starting a reef. With one fish in a 14 gallon Biocube.

Livestock:
Clownfish

Coral:
Frogspawn
Red mushroom
Brain looking coral (red)
And pulsating Xenia

I don't know the amount of rock but if you refer to the picture it's not heavily stocked.

1.5 to 2 inches of sand.

Light:
a250w 15K

Questions:
1: lots of people love rock, I like the simpler look I the aquarium. Is it a must to fill the tank to the rim with live rock?

2: recommend any other corals?

3: think I could put an anemone in tank?

Nitrates seem to stay below 20 ppm, as tank matures more I think that will drop.

All other parameters are good.

Attachments

• image-2083628194.jpg
    image-2083628194.jpg
    116.7 KB · Views: 139
1) No you don't have to fill it to the brim. With a small bioload you should be ok.
2) With a 250w MH (I'm assuming Metal Halide here?) You can pretty much grow anything. Get whatever corals you like. A nice tabling acro would look sweet mounted at the top of that rock.
3) Yes, you can grow an anemone in that tank. If you want stony corals and an anemone, you need to get those trates down as close to 0 as you can.

Thanks, the light is LED but should cook up any corals too. Yea, being patient with those nitrates. I'd like to put some hard coral sometime, but figures it's to high in nitrates now. Have to figure that one out.

They are great! Expensive but they will allow me to grow and continue to use them even with larger tanks. The model number is a250w 15K the brand is kessel or something similar to that. So far my corals love it. It cost about $303 with tax, and if you need a gooseneck that's an extra $50.

caseynewton said: