Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-23-2012, 11:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
Aqueon Proflex sump

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone had an experience with the proflex sumps? I am thinking of upgrading my,filtration from a standard wet/dry to this on and running it with the centre fuge. I have a 54g corner reef. I liked the look of the proflex and didn't want to get into DIY because space is an issue as the 54g corner stand is very very small underneath. I was looking at the model 3 and it seems like it would be a good fit.
Either way, I am going to upgrade my skimmer, currently running a sealife that we bought used With the system and I know it's too small. Was looking at the eshopps cone. Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 04:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hagerstown, Md
Posts: 684
I would take a look at Trigger Systems sumps first. I was going to go with the proflex until I looked at them side by side in a store. I was surprised at how flimsy the proflex was as compared to others. The Ruby version of the Trigger sumps is really nice if you end up running a refugium, as it diffuses the light spectrum from that main fuge section to keep the algae growth where it needs to be. Wish I could've gone with the Ruby, but my stand just wouldn't accommodate the extra room it needed.
__________________

__________________
Qube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JustinKBreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 512
I was considering that sump also, but ended up going with the eshopps refugium, I dont remember now why I picked one over the other.
__________________
JustinKBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny South Florida
Posts: 274
I was actually runninga proflex 3. They are really flimsy. I ran it about 2 months and some of the seams began to come apart. I change it out for a Trigger sys Ruby 36 elite, but I did build a stand to fit it.
I would not go with the Proflex. For what you pay, the quality is not there.
__________________
Spotted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:30 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
I had one and replaced it. Garbage. Couldn't do anything that I wanted to do with it. I ended up building my own sump from a 20 long and precut pieces of glass fro Lowes. Ended up costing me 54 bucks, and that was at full price for a brand new tank. So much cheaper, and easier, to make your own.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aqueon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.