Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-17-2004, 05:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Cunch Send a message via AIM to Cunch Send a message via MSN to Cunch Send a message via Yahoo to Cunch
ASM or Euro-Reef Skimmers, Depth in a sump?

Hello All,

Thanks to all who look at these messages, I am in the finishing stages of designing my sump/refuge filtration for my 110g reef tank. I have the dimensions of my sump and refuge and now I am looking at skimmers, between the two very simular designs: ASM & Euro-Reef, does anyone know how deep these skimmers have to sit in the sump to operate properly? Do they have to be on a stand??

I am looking at this skimmer:
ASM G-2x
6.5" Body Size,
20.25"H
Foot Print: 11" x 13"
Pump Sedra 3500
Rated for a tank up too 200 G

As in my sketches, I have the skimmer sitting in a part of the sump that is 12"L x 9'H x 14"W, giving it approx. 6 gallons of water in that section of the sump. Total dimensions of the entire sump/refuge is 36Lx12Hx14W = 26gallons.

Remaining part of the sump/fuge is: 2 compartments aside from the above stated skimmer compartment, and they are : 12Lx10hx14w for the refuge at: 7g and the same dimensions for the return sections.

Sump is going to be designed like this:
[Refuge / Return Sections / Skimmer section]
----7G------------7G----------------6G-----------

Any thoughts?? I would like to use an external pump, but it looks like due to the design it will be an internal pump. Thoughts comments, concerns??

Thanks for all your help in advance

Cunch
__________________

__________________
Cunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 08:13 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
The euroreefs can be in up to 8" of water. I do not know about the ASM. The impellar on the Euroreef is a little different than the ASM and produces finer bubbles.
__________________

__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 02:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Cunch Send a message via AIM to Cunch Send a message via MSN to Cunch Send a message via Yahoo to Cunch
When you say can be, Could it also stay out of the water? Reason being, is I have about 22 inches to work with under my stand, that skimmer is way too tall if I put it in the sump and hope ot work on it in the future.
__________________
Cunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 03:39 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Both the ASM and the EuroReef are in sump only. You could go with a Berlin Classic and run it externally. It takes about 20.5" total space. Another option, although more expensive, would be an Aqua C EV 180 which needs 20" and can be run externally. The EV 120 is 18" tall.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 04:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Cunch Send a message via AIM to Cunch Send a message via MSN to Cunch Send a message via Yahoo to Cunch
Well after discussing this with my father who is a hell of a wood worker, we're going to build an aquarium stand for the 110. The current stand is 24" high, I am thinking since this is a tall tank to begin with (30") I could raise it almost 12 inches and bring that tank up to eye level (stand at 36") , which would also leave me plenty of space for the skimmer and other appliances to work with. Only problem is getting up and cleaning the depths of the tank and now upgrading my non-purchased water pumps to handle the extra foot of height.

Cunch
__________________
Cunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 08:18 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
That sounds like a great idea. You might want to consider using external pumps if it's not too much of a pain to drill the sump. I have a 110 so I know what you're talking about on the subject of cleaning it. I have some good used scuba gear you might be interested in.....
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 12:54 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to Cunch Send a message via AIM to Cunch Send a message via MSN to Cunch Send a message via Yahoo to Cunch
Hahha, Please send it over.... Actually maybe you can help me out, in regards to your tank -- What do you have as an overflow or means of getting the water to the sump? What kind of lighting do you have on yours? I was thinking of 2 400w 10k & some PC as well... Any thoughts??


Thanks for your help

Cunch
__________________
Cunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 01:27 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Well...my 110 is a work in progress...very slow progress at this point. I don't have it set up right now. I did play around with it some though and here's how it was set up. Two external overflows with a Hydrothruster pump (which has since died). Flow was in the 1000gph range and this setup seemed to work well. Two 400w MH's would be about the minimum for keeping any SPS or other high light inverts in a tank that deep. Since it's a 4' tank, I would probably lean towards VHO or T-5 actinics since they are both available in 4' lengths. If (when) I set this one back up, I'll have an external return pump doing around 1000-1200 gph. I'll also have a closed loop at about the same flow with a SQWD to vary the currents some. HTH some.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, skimmer, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Stock - Super Reef Octopus XP 2000 In-Sump & External Cone Protein Skimmers by Cor AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 11-10-2009 08:34 AM
Water Depth for ASM G3 Protein Skimmer maporsche General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 04-26-2009 06:38 PM
ASM G Skimmers Ziggy953 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 04-09-2007 10:51 PM
ASM-G2 Skimmer Depth runway1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 11-09-2005 03:09 PM
Best sump water depth for ASM G3 skimmer gsxrguru2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 09-25-2005 10:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.