Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2013, 09:49 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Good choice. I have two jbj's running now and havent had any issues other than one time recently one of the floats got stuck. It had been in there for over 2 years with no cleaning so that was my own fault. lol

I use a maxijet since I have alot of evaporation, I used to use the aqualifter pump when it was a smaller tank. Anything will do as long as it can push the water to the tank you need it in.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:22 PM   #32
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,542
I use the Jbj without any issue in tandem with an aqua lifter. I have it in mode for one sensor. Works great, even use it for lazy man water changes without issue. No alarms on mine.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:31 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I'm sold on the JBJ...esp since the Tunze doesn't seem to be able to run with a sensor in thr tank and one in the reservoir.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:53 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would not set it up that way. I would use the 2 floats for high and low levels in the sump. I would rather burn out my maxijet than run my sump dry, lose the benefit of my sump/skimmer/algae, and possibly burn out my return pump(s).
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:03 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
z_dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: western mass
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
I would not set it up that way. I would use the 2 floats for high and low levels in the sump. I would rather burn out my maxijet than run my sump dry, lose the benefit of my sump/skimmer/algae, and possibly burn out my return pump(s).
Good point, plus I have my heater it the sump. If it turns on while dry... Pop
__________________
z_dano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:08 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
I would not set it up that way. I would use the 2 floats for high and low levels in the sump. I would rather burn out my maxijet than run my sump dry, lose the benefit of my sump/skimmer/algae, and possibly burn out my return pump(s).
Is that directed at my comment? If so, I'm running a 20G nano with no sump, so it's either both floats in the tank or split between the tank and freshwater reservoir. I was going to put the low level float in the top off water and the high water float in the tank...
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:26 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
And this would shut off the pump if too much water was removed from the top off reservoir? I suppose that would work. It's not really going to matter anyway, because once the tank float is submerged, it's going to shut the pump down anyway. You could just keep the other float as a spare.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.