Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2012, 09:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Ok, my tank stats are in my sig. I have a reef octopus NW200 and my trates are high. I'm going to replace my Rodi filters but want something else as filtration. I have no room for an upright ATS, so I want to a horizontal one. My fuge section is about 22x12. Could I just cover the entire top of the fuge with that clear canvas? It would be in water about .5-1" deep. Would that work? I could move my macro to my 20........ I would be using 2 CFL bulb. Can I do anything to make it more affective? Air stone underneath? Any help at all would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
How will you be powering the screen? Are you going to plumb it into your overflow or use a pump and have it a separate unit ? How big of a screen are you planning and what size light fixtures? .5 to 1 inch underwater isn't bad but keep it as much out of the water as you can.
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
It's going to be horizontal just in the sump. It will be powered by the flow through the sump. Most of the flow is at the surface. Should I get an air pump and bubble wand to increase water movement under the screen?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
You need water running down the screen . How will you achieve that?
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
That's what I'm asking. Is if it would be ok laying in the water with some flow around it. Any other ideas on a horizontal build? That wouldnt cost a lot!
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Lol no it's not going to do anything . How many pipes are coming from your overflow to the sump? What I did was turn one of my overflow pipes into a scrubber pipe and did it that way. Or you can get a pump and have a PVC pipes shaped like a upside down L and you will have your water go up and over and then it would flow down the screen.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Can you post a pic of yours???? I would love to see it. I'm contemplating the pump idea and also the overflow..... Hmm....... I would need to use pvc for the overflow fed scrubber correct? How would I do thisv
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Yea I'll make a quick video for you. You need a union before the slotted pipe so you can remove it for cleaning .
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
What's a union? Sorry I'm no good with plumbing lol.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 10:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
It's a 3 piece plumbing part the you use to attach pipes you'll see it in the video

__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.