Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2004, 02:33 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Back siphon

Hi all,

Due to a recent power outage, I realized my return line is back siphoning back into the sump. I have a megaflo overflow and it has a small hole in the 90 fitting before the return outlet. It is siphoning up to the level of my return though. This is too close for comfort.

Do you think I just need to make the hole bigger?

Any thoughts would be great!
__________________

__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 03:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
add a small hole on your return the same way i guess ya have on your overflow if i read this right
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 215
I figured no matter how big the hole was it will get clogged. I keep my return nozzle close to the top of the water line for the just in case the hole does get clogged. The chamber from my mega flow will drain down over time also, because the return pipe is not "sealed" at the bottom either, it is just kinda snug fit into the bulkhead. I have tested by turning off the pump and letting it sit for a few hours to make sure everything possible could drain back (and fit) into the sump.
__________________
Overstocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 33
You could install a check value to your return line
__________________
Listen before you speak and see the good in every situation.
cleantank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:10 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
That is the thing, there is a hole already on the return line. The wall of the overflow stops the water from draining down the durso style pipe. The return pipe comes up from the bottom of the tank and there is an elbow with the pipe that puts the water back into the tank.

On the return elbow, there is a small hole there already. You can hear the water shooting out while the pump is running. It is just above the water level. I wonder if this should be submerged?

I'll check the specs of the overflow. Did not do this before I moved the tank though ...
__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
being below the water line will help the water from splashing !! i have yet to have a hole clog up !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:15 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
overstocker: Mine is just snug fitted too. I did check to see if the hole was clogged but it is ok. Maybe it did it before but I might have lowered my return nozzle when I moved the tank. I have been experimenting with different water flow direction.

If I shut the pump down and then lift the nozzle up, it stops draining.

clean tank: Good idea on the check valve but I have been told not to rely on one.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
check valve imo are a no no !!
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 33
why?
__________________
Listen before you speak and see the good in every situation.
cleantank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 04:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
because they are prone to get clogged and/or stick open !! so if your set up is wrong when it sticks you will have a huge mess !! why ya make sure you have a big enough sump and/or set it up so when the pumps turned off it will will your sump without over flowing onto the floor and when your up and running your sump would be about half/3/4 full to make room for the back flush
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
siphon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't know how to siphon my gravel sarah5775 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 03-04-2008 03:29 PM
Does it get the siphon, or does it live? Feron Saltwater & Reef - Identification 4 01-17-2006 10:48 AM
Siphon Break help!!! firereef Saltwater Reef Aquaria 29 04-29-2004 12:59 PM
siphon tube fishtender Saltwater & Reef - Identification 2 11-18-2003 12:43 PM
Help with Python Siphon... HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 07-21-2003 08:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.