Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2004, 05:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
Ballast Placement

OK, I'll have 2 Fulham Workhorse 7s for my PCs, and 3 electronic MH ballasts. The reflector came with the mogul sockets and braces, with the braces riveted to the reflector. There's a hole in the middle of the brace and the reflector allowing the wires to go through to the side behind the reflector. I'm going to use U-nails (not hammered in all the way, but enough to keep the cables raised off the reflector) to support them. It came with about 8-10" of wire already wired to the mogul sockets. So, my question is this...it's not long enough to make it out of the hood, so how should I connect the wires to the ballast? Electrical tape, a cap, a cap filled with a non-conducting paste that will harden and keep moisture out, or should I just drill a hole in the top and pipe the wires out the top? I really don't want to do this, as it will make the hood look bad, but if I have to, I have to. My other question, where should I mount these ballasts? With the PCs, I have 8' moisture-proof endcaps, so I have about 8' to work with. Underneath the tank in the stand? On the wall off to the left (the right is where the sump is)? Where's a good place to keep them cool and away from moisture. Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 06:20 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
How bout wire nuts and then ample electrical tape wrapping.

I acutally have my PC ballasts connected to the back of the canopy. I placed my icecap ballast in the stand up in the upper right corner
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 06:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
The back will have large cutouts resembling
_____________________
(...............)__(...............)

(Ignore the periods, I used them as spacers) to promote circulation throughout the hood. The front will have the same cutouts. The sides will have a place for 2 3" fans on the left, and the right side will have 3 very small slits to allow air to escape. The top will consist of 3 boards (1x6s) with small gaps in between to allow for more heat dissipation/condensation prevention. I could put the workhorses on the back, one on each side...with the setup, do you think this is a good idea? I will mount the MH ballasts in the stand. Do I need any air cirulation for the ballasts, or do they not get very hot? Just for reference's sake, the stand is made of particle board, and I have reinforced all corners and joints with 2x4s. Thanks fishfreek!

[edit]The diagram looks bad, as per the usual. Just slide the second line in about 2 spaces and that's about how it is. I can make a diagram if anyone needs/would like to see it.[/edit]
__________________
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 07:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to r95rdstr Send a message via MSN to r95rdstr Send a message via Yahoo to r95rdstr
My tank is configured to divide my great room, so ballasts can't be mounted to the back of the canopy. Instead, I'm going to make a recessed compartment in the top of the canopy to mount the ballasts in. I'll start by cutting a large section out of the top of the canopy, then recess it down about 3" down. The ballasts will be hidden, unless you're at least 6'6" tall. They'll also be away from the salt air, and won't add heat to the tank.
__________________
r95rdstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ballast

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MH ballast tamra&steven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-22-2009 10:01 AM
MH Ballast JohnNLuc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-21-2005 05:10 PM
Can i use this ballast? DragonForce DIY Projects 4 09-21-2005 04:22 AM
T5 ballast ellisz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-23-2005 03:20 PM
Ballast ? booker DIY Projects 0 10-14-2004 11:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.