Banded cat shark

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SharkMan

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a 46 gallon saltwater tank with dual bio wheels and standard florescent lights and it is a fish only tank with a banded cat shark and a larger tomato clown. I spoke with the local fish store before purchasing the shark and they thought that everything would be fine. I do have plans in the next year or so to get a 180 gallon tank to better suit him. Is there any basic advice anyone can offer about what to feed him, other fish, shelter, or any thing else you can advise that would be great. I just want to make sure He is as happy and healthy as possible. Thanks in advance.

I know that they need a soft sand substrate. I also know they are considered aggressive. I have no first hand experience, but would think the inverts and smaller fish will become a snack food. I have also seen these sharks top 3 ft in an aquarium situation, that being said, I would ponder whether or not the 180 is going to be large enough.

Lights are not an issue with a fish only tank. I dont think your filtration is going to be able to handle the water quality issues that will soon start occuring.

what kind of water problems are you refereing to? I really want to keep the shark but do you think it is out of the question? so far my water quality is good my ph is a little low. I have my water tested weekly and bi monthly water changes.

I am referring to the fact that the shark will produce a high amount of waste matter, and in doing so, will play havoc with your water quality. If the decision were mine to make, I would have to pass.