Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-07-2012, 01:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

bc29 build help

Let me start by saying I'm a huge noob when it come to saltwater please excuse me if I have the wrong terminology and what not. As far as the biocube goes its a used 29g. Looks liike the false bottoms have been removed and a tab cut out between the 1st and 2nd chamber in the back. There is also a plastic grid fish saver thing taped up between the main tank and the filter area (I plan to secure it with something better than tape). It has the stock lighting with 36w 10k day/deep blue lights. There is also about 1/3 of the canopy cut out of the back above the 2nd chamber for a skimmer I was told.

I was asked in the intro thread what type of coral I want to keep, well to be honest I don't know the difference or the types available. I'm assuming with the stock lighting I'm limited to soft corals? Eventually I will upgrade the lighting but thats once I get the hang of saltwater. Any suggestions for beginner corals?

I'm wondering what to put in the filtration part of the tank. I want to put a heater in the first chamber but does anythign else go in there? I've seen pics of a few with live rock and plants in the 2nd chamber, how would I go about setting this up? Since I have the canopy cut open already simple enough to put a small light back there for the plants but should I have some type of media basket?

Old 08-07-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by uber420