Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2006, 11:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 71
big sump

i cant fit much of anything under my stand, so.. my tank is set up against a wall that separates a room from the closet. My plan is run my plumbing through the wall witch would alow me to have a big sump. My question is how big is to big.. i was thinking maybe like a commercial size trash can. Would a size this big be needed, or could you see anything wrong with this. thanks
51g tank
seaclone 150 skimmer
70p lr
60 ls
fluval 403
2 maxi 900 ph
__________________

__________________
inspire0522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 12:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Halifax Canada
Posts: 236
A good size would be 20% of your main tanks volume.
__________________

__________________
65 gal reef
EQUIPMENT:
2 PC's 192W each , 20 gal sump/fuge
LIVESTOCK:
4 false clowns, 2 firefish, cardinal, midas blennie, toadstool, zoos, shrooms, trumpet coral, torch, pagoda, frogspawn, poylps, red open brain, devils hand, hermits, snails, 3 cleaner shrimp, coral banded and a emerald crab.
canyon15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 04:57 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Gonna have to deal with the bubbles in the return. Also, not sure how a heater might do in rubber.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 12:28 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
You could use a rubbermaid container or even another glass or acrylic tank. I would rather have something wide vs deep. I have a 75 gal stock tank for my sump that holds about 50 gal of water. My display is a 75

At my last house I did the same thing you are mentioning. I cut a outlet box hole in the wall and ran my plumbing into a closet. I used a 20 gal tank for my sump and had a 25 gal refugium in a rubbermaid container. Only real issue with this the the humidity in the closet. I ended up have to vent the room to the outside and adding a duct fan to keep temp and humidity down. When I moved, I put a cover over the hole and it looked like a normal wall
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 05:41 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 71
thanks for the tip ellisz seems there is always something to do in this hobby hehe.. witch in my case is a good thing. so do you do pwc the same or not as often, with all the extra volume of water and the bio load being light? you still do 20% of the hole volume?
__________________
inspire0522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 08:09 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
So how do you manage bubbles back itno the return from all that comotion as the water returns? Or is it not a problem at all. I was thinking about using the rubbermaid also, so if you can tell me that bubbles and heater wouldn't be a problem, I'm really interested. Would like to have a skimmer on it too. Ellisz, how'd you do the fuge in the rubbermaid? Got any pics or was that just at the last house?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 09:02 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
So how do you manage bubbles back itno the return from all that comotion as the water returns? Or is it not a problem at all.
There are a ton of bubbles but they get dispersed before the pump. My current sump is pretty big too soI have a lot of distance between the drains and the pump. I actually have 3 drains plus my skimmer dumping into the left side of my sump. I have the tank drain, the 20L frag tanks drain and the 10 gal frag tank drain dropping into the same area. I have some rock that breaks the surface of the water and acts as a baffle.

On my previous set up, I had a 20 gal tank on the floor as my sump. The 25 gal rubbermaid was sitting in a short TV stand so it was elevated above the sump. I had a PH in the sump that pumped into the fuge and then it gravity drained back into the sump. I had a small container in the sump that was wedged between the tank walls that acted as a baffle to stop bubbles.

On my current set up, I have a 75 gal stock tank. I have a 15 gal rubbermaid inside the stock tank. My display drain is Y's off and part dumps into the left side of the sump and another part dumps into the fuge. I have a ball valve on the fuge side to regulate the flow in the fuge. I drilled some holes in the side of the rubbermaid so that the water drains back into the sump. I have bubbles in the fuge right now but they don't make it to the sump. I did have a PH supplying the fuge but I removed it when I re-did my plumbing.

I need to get some pics of my current setup. It is a PVC maze It is very low tech though.

As for the heater, I would not let it sit on the bottom of the rubbermaid as it could melt the plastic. You could put it on some rock though.

Let me know if you have any more questions.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oceanic sump model 2, is it big enough for a 125 gallon FO? 20 20 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-08-2005 03:04 PM
How big of a sump for a 125g reef tank?? gsxrguru2 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-26-2005 09:28 PM
I absolutely refuse to pay big bucks for LFS sump/prefilter Dr.Nate DIY Projects 3 05-14-2005 10:52 PM
How big should the sump be ?? YellowTang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-02-2004 02:24 AM
Protein Skimmer Too Big For Sump JMB Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 12-18-2003 08:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.