Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-17-2012, 09:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shap0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
Biocube pump

My pump on my 29 was clogged with crud so I disassembled it and cleaned it. Now it makes this ticking sound. And ideas on if reassembly was wrong. Its a pretty simple pump.

Does anyone know of an aftermarket replacement?

Thanks all.
__________________

__________________
Shap0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shap0311
My pump on my 29 was clogged with crud so I disassembled it and cleaned it. Now it makes this ticking sound. And ideas on if reassembly was wrong. Its a pretty simple pump.

Does anyone know of an aftermarket replacement?

Thanks all.
Go get yourself this pump. Your tank will thank you.

http://shop.mediabaskets.com/Cobalt-...ump-MJ1200.htm

I've been running this pump in my BC29 for 9 months with no issues.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shap0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
Thanks Convict. Does it have the same setup as the OEM pump?
__________________
Shap0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shap0311
Thanks Convict. Does it have the same setup as the OEM pump?
Yup. Just hook it up to the stock outtake, drop it in the chamber and plug it in. Your are now done.

It's a better pump IMO, the flow rate is slightly higher also. 295gph as opposed to 243gph.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #5
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shap0311 View Post
My pump on my 29 was clogged with crud so I disassembled it and cleaned it. Now it makes this ticking sound. And ideas on if reassembly was wrong. Its a pretty simple pump.

Does anyone know of an aftermarket replacement?

Thanks all.
make sure you seated the propeller right on shaft and those lil black rubber dohikibobs are on all way
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Shap0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
Thanks I'll double check that.
__________________

__________________
Shap0311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, biocube, cube, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.