Blastomussa?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tooldini

Aquarium Advice Activist
I just got these a couple weeks ago and wonder how do they grow? I have a few LPS's and don't fully understand how they grow. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks
Jeff

I have no experience with blastomussa but I can't imagine it would be any different than other lps's. My hammer coral has budded new polyps and it has recently split so one head is now two.

OK,, that must be how they do it like my frog spawn when I got it there were 2 heads and now there are 3 or maybe even a small one it is hard to tell.

thanks
Jeff

My blasto buds babies unlike my frogspawn and candy canes which branch/split existing heads. It's been growing really well in my tank so far (hopefully saying that didn't just doom it, lol).

What you have is a Blastomussa wellsi or Pineapple coral and to my understanding they preferr moderate lighting as strong lighting will prevent it from extending its polyps from fully expanding. I would encourage you to feed taget feed it often as you would with the rest of your LPS corals.

I have a Blastomussa and it is one of my favorite corals. It is really more of an "encrusting" coral for lack of a better word. As it grows it will blanket the rocks around it.
I would encourage you to feed taget feed it often as you would with the rest of your LPS corals.
IMO, this is not needed. I have never target-fed any of my LPS corals. When the tank is feed a proper diet tey will all get what they need from the water column. Lighting is still very important as well.