Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2012, 03:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
Bore Hole Water

I currently buy my water from my LFS which isn't ideal. The only reason i haven't invested in an RO/DI unit is because i'm unsure if my water is safe. I'm not sure if it gets chlorinated but i could find out fairly easy. I know it goes through filters and UV sterilisers.

What else do i need to check for?
__________________

__________________
begginersluck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ro/Di units will strip the water of everything. The only thing you may want to consider is finding out if your water company use chlouramines in their water treatment. If so then you may want to consider a chlouramine ready Ro/Di unit.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
I will try to find that one out but im sure it wont have.

This is great news. I think i may be in for an early Christmas present. (from myself)
__________________
begginersluck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
+1... BRS has a unit specifically for chloramines. Just ask your DPW if they treat with chlorine or chloramines. If chlorine, there isn't a special RODI, but i will recommend a 5 stage with TDS meter and pressure gauge (Thanks MRC)... They're cheap under $200.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
How large of a tank do you have and how much do you expect to make weekly? Is the tank the only thing you will be filtering water for? For example I make my coffe and tea with ro/di which if you haven't I highly reccomend keeping a gallon of Ro/Di next to the coffee pot you'll thank me lol
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
Lol no i use regular filtered water for my tea and coffee. My LFS told me today that you cant drink RO water? It was however one of the guys that works there that i LEAST trust haha. And guess what..... he's the floor manager! Normally go to the owner but he's away! Bummer!

Anyway il be using it for my 300l aquarium along with 2 QT's. One is 60l and the other is about 40l. I always have 20l of mixed saltwater at hand and the same amount of RO/DI water for my top off! Can i run it straight into a 25 litre jerry can?
__________________
begginersluck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
(usa here lol) jerry? And I think your making 10 gallons a week right now so say about 15 gallons a week which isn't a very large amount. A 5 stage Ro/Di would be a good investment but I opted for the 4 stage since three times in a row they were sold out of their 5 stage lol. If your ordering from brs their units are modular so I can add stages to my system to potentially make it a 5 stage just from buy the missing stage.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I'm making about the same amount of water as you and need filter changes roughly every 10 months but that will differ depending on water source quality and pressure.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
begginersluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jersey Channel islands
Posts: 671
Do BRS post to the UK?

Jerry can..... i thought that was a worldwide saying. Maybe not haha.

Well i think its definately on my shopping list! I spent a fortune over the last couple of months on upgrading lights, QT's, new food, new fish etc. Not sure how close to the top of the shopping list this unit is though lol.

Do you know much about QT'ing? I started a new thread this afternoon on what i've been having problems with. Maybe you could check it out? It's under 'Sick Fish & Corals' 'New Quarantine Tank'. I could do with an experienced point of view.
__________________
begginersluck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I'm not sure about brs shipping to UK sorry. I would think dry goods wouldn't be an issue though. But jerry can lol.... trash can?
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hole, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.