Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Thartsockpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 274
Brain Blast!!!

Ok so ive been trying to make a DIY sump and i just had a brain blast. what if i used something like a brute container in a cylinder shape maybe 30 gallons, then to make a refugium chamber i would use a egg crate to hold up chaeto or kalurpa algae to get more light. then have maybe a power head below that chamber and a return pump at the bottom going through the egg crate. maybe find a way to add a DSB. and i still have to figure out to hoe to add a skimmer maybe on some more egg crate.
would this work?
ill try and make some kind of diagram.
__________________

__________________
Thartsockpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:04 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
Yeah, itd work. A lot of people do it, but I doubt they put powerheads under it, why are you doing that? A Dsb would be good too, but thatd be a ton of sand. How big is the display?
__________________

needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Yes. It would work.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:24 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Thartsockpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 274
Display is 30 gallons. I'm trying to get as much of it to be a refugium as I can. Maybe even hold some frags once my colonies are big enough to be fragged. also for the deep sand bed I don't know if it would be deep but there would be a sand bed down there for little things to live in.
__________________
Thartsockpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
needmorecowbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 3,638
It would be fine then, if you have the room, go for it definitely. Yeah, the sand will still have bacteria in it, just dont stir it ever, which is something you wouldn't normally hear, but you want the least amount of dead bacteria possible.
needmorecowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:30 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Thartsockpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 274
I don't understand why I would or wouldn't stir the sand bed?
__________________
Thartsockpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:44 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
When you stir the sand you can potentially release years of built up debris/ammonia/phosphates and in large amounts that could halm all your inhabitants. That's if you don't rake and vac your sand bed. Some people do every water change so its not so much an issue.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:46 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Thartsockpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 274
Ok. Is it OK if I start to do that with a system that is 6 months old? Also any ideas on how to add a skimmer to the brute container?
__________________
Thartsockpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Is the skimmer HOB or in sump? If you wanna begin cleaning your sand bed then just vac small areas everytime you do a water change so you don't realease to much into the system. I'd break it down into 5-6 sections and do one at a time. If you see any signs of spikes do a test and you may need another water change.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
You could run a hang on, use it external, or add a spot in it to sit (sump style).
__________________

__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.